FAHSS LEAD Scholars - Medal Recipients

Sixty graduating students who have demonstrated leadership, engagement, application and discovery during their undergrad career in the faculty of arts, humanities and social sciences were recognized Friday morning, with gold, silver or bronze medals during the inaugural LEAD Medallion Scholars presentation.
“The idea behind the LEAD scholars program is to incentivise and reward students’ activities inside and outside the classroom,” says Dr. Marcello Guarini, dean of FAHSS.
LEAD stands for “Leadership” through peer mentoring and campus involvement;  “Engagement” through service learning, study abroad, or other outreach activities;  “Application” through internship, practicum, or other hands-on activities related to your field of study; and “Discovery” through undergraduate research or creative pursuits. Students receive either a bronze, silver, or gold medal based on how many of the LEAD categories they completed.
Gold Medallion recipient Mark McWhinney, double honours in Political Science and History with a minor in Greek & Roman Studies; and bronze medallion recipient Francesk Perpalaj, political science major, with Dr. John Sutcliffe, Political Science head.“I think this program will grow because it motivates students to participate because they are getting recognition”, says gold medallion recipient Mark McWhinney. It looks good on your resume or transcript.
“The options under the four LEAD categories provide students with a well-rounded volunteer experience where you can explore your strengths,” says bronze medallion recipient Francesk Perpalaj.
Both McWhinney, who will receive a double honours in Political Science and History with a minor in Greek & Roman Studies, and Perpalaj (BAH political science) at convocation this week, will head to graduate school in the fall.
The presentation to LEAD Scholars was part of the Dean’s Breakfast held May 24th at the Jackman School of Dramatic Art.

FAHSS LEAD Scholars program coordinators (l-r) Tony Vo, Dr. Phebe Lam and Crystal BryanFAHSS LEAD SCHOLARS Spring 2019

Ali Abdulreda
Jewels Adair
Yasin Avci
Karima Dairo
Adrian Debiasio
Anca Enache
Melissa Evenden
Samantha Girard
Jackie Howell
Sofia Jarvis
Matt Lepain
Katherine Matchett
Dean Marcello Guarini congratulates gold medallion recipient Jewels AdairSelina McCallum
Mark McWhinney
Chloe Moore
Paul Elijah Napigkit
Aleksandra Redko
Joshua Richer
Renee Rocheleau
Nicole Smieja
Pablo Tannous
Becky Young
Megan Alderman
Dean Marcello Guarini congratulates LEAD Scholars Medallion recipientKelsey Oswald-Bauer
Jordan Boscariol
Valantina Dawod
Denise Deblock
Sam Galea
Julianna Galifi
Michelle Gomes
Giselle Helou
Katie Hines
Becky Lashmar
Trent Leddy
Dean Marcello Guarini congratulates LEAD Scholars Medallion recipientSamantha Lefler
Rebecca Linzner
Jennifer Mitchell
Sarah Al-Nussairy
Damian Persaud
Avery Potvin
Jade Roy
Zoha Salam
Sarah Yalda
Walaa Yassine
Dean Marcello Guarini congratulates LEAD Scholars Medallion recipientBronze
Naomi Belay
Kathleen Cameron
Sarah Costello
Kaitlyn Gagnon
Shahd Ghunim
Monica Karch
Jessica Landgraff
Sam Levang
Cassie Major
Abby McDermott
Luk Van Noggeren
Francesk Perpalaj
Julia Ristoska
Jenna Sousa
Tamara Vujic