News Stories

Professor Elman receives honorary LLD from the Law Society of Ontario

The Law Society of Ontario presented an honorary Doctor of Laws degree (LLD) to Windsor Law professor and former dean, Bruce Elman, at its Call to the Bar ceremony in London this week.

The Law Society awards honorary doctorates each year to distinguished members of the profession and the public in recognition of outstanding achievements in the legal profession, the rule of law or the cause of justice. 

Alums claim exceptional young leader award four years in a row

Each year the Canadian Defence Lawyers recognize exceptional contributions made by a young member with the Richard B. Lindsay QC Exceptional Young Leader Award, an award named in honour of their past president. John Lea ‘07 is the 2018 recipient. We are proud to see Windsor Law alums claim this award for the fourth consecutive year. 

  • 2018 – John Lea (‘07)
  • 2017 – Jason Frost (‘07)
  • 2016 – Andrea Lim (‘08)
  • 2015 – Laura Emmett (‘07) 

Windsor Law alumni leaders in the legal profession

Across the country, Windsor Law alums like Diana Miles ’88 and Dan Pinnington ‘91 are attaining prominence in leadership roles within the legal profession. 

Miles was recently appointed CEO of the Law Society of Ontario by Treasurer and President, Paul Schabas. 

She joined the Law Society in 2001 and has assumed multiple leadership roles within the organization before her appointment as CEO. 

Advocacy Accolades

At Windsor Law, experiential learning is a key component of legal education. 

The 2017/2018 advocacy season began with the BLG/Cavalluzzo Hayes Labour and Employment Law Oral Advocacy Competition in October where students Angela Zhu (2L) and Teddy Weinstein (3L), along with their coach Kendal McKinney ‘00, won first place and brought home the Kitchen Cup. In addition to winning the Cup, Weinstein was also recognized as Top Oralist.