The University of Windsor has moved to an “essential service only” model. Learn More.

Science News

Sara Elliott

Sara Elliott
Communications Coordinator
Phone: 519-253-3000, Ext. 3491

Faculty of Science Newsletter

Stay up-to-date on the latest initiatives happening in our cutting-edge faculty with our newsletter.

If you want to contribute and share your stories and accomplishments, contact Communications Coordinator Sara Elliott at

2020 Awards

Each year the Faculty of Science celebrates the achievements of our outstanding faculty, staff and students. On March 12, 2020, the Student Awards were announced in the Essex Centre of Research (CORe) atrium. Unfortunately, the April 2020 Faculty and Staff awards ceremony was postponed to support both the federal and provincial initiatives to help mitigate the spread of the COVID-19 virus. Congratulations to all of the award recipients. To those who could not be recognized in person, we will celebrate together at a later date.

Faculty & Staff Awards

Collaborative & Interdisciplinary Award Faculty – Catherine Febria, Department of Integrative Biology
International Teaching & Research Award Faculty – Hugh MacIsaac, School of the Environment
Outreach & Engagement Award Faculty – Alice Grgicak-Mannion, School of the Environment
Research Impact Award Faculty –   Daniel Heath  Integrative Biology
Service Excellence Award Staff – Rose Spence, Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Service Excellence Award Staff – Melissa Robinet, School of Computer Science
Student Engagement Award Faculty – Michelle Bondy, School of the Environment
Student Mentoring Award Faculty – John Trant, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry   
Student Mentoring Award Faculty – Jeremy Rawson, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry   
Roger Thibert Teaching Excellence Award Faculty – Pooya Moradian Zadeh, School of Computer Science  

Student Awards

Ambassador Award Graduate – Paul Meister,  Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry   
Ambassador Award Graduate – Kyle Stokes, Department of Integrative Biology
Ambassador Award Undergraduate – Jake Frank, Department of Biomedical Sciences
Ambassador Award Undergraduate – Aislyn Laurent Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry and School of Computer Science
GA Excellence Award Graduate –  Justin Roberto, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry 
GA Excellence Award Graduate – Ronaldo Eid, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
GA Excellence Award Graduate – Ashley DaDalt, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Going Above & Beyond in Research Undergraduate – Renee Goodman, Department of Physics and Biology
Going Above & Beyond in Research Masters  – Julia Pignanelli, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Going Above & Beyond in Research Doctoral  – Yunyun Wu, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Going Above & Beyond in Research Post-Doctoral – Abed Alkateeb, School of Computer Science 
TA Excellence Award Undergraduate – Noah Campbell, School of Computer Science  

Faculty of Science Town Hall

In Fall 2018 Chris Houser, Dean of Science, provided an update on enrollment, student programs, budget and research at the third Annual Faculty of Science Town Hall. Video and and the powerpoint slide are available below:

The powerpoint document from the Town Hall can be downloaded here: