# University of Windsor Senate

5.10: Election of Senate Representative on the Search Committee for the Provost and Vice-

President, Academic

Item for: Approval

Forwarded by: The University Secretariat

Motion: That Senate approve the Senate Representative on the Search Committee for the Provost

and Vice-President, Academic.

Information regarding the election process for Senate representative on the Search Committee for the Provost and Vice-President, Academic is contained below. A call for nominations was sent out to Senate members containing a memo, a nomination form and an eligibility list. Voting will take place at the March 14, 2014 Senate meeting.

To: All Senate Members

From: Maria Giampuzzi

**Elections Manager, University Secretariat** 

Re: Call for Nominations - Senate Representative on the Search Committee for Provost and Vice-President,

Academic

In light of the recent announcement about the appointment of Dr. Leo Groarke, as President and Vice Chancellor of Trent University, the Search Committee must now turn its attention to a full search for a new Provost and Vice-President, Academic. One senate faculty representative on the committee is not able to continue serving. Therefore, the Senate elected members are Dr. Karen Roland, Dr. Valerie Scatamburlo-D'Annibale, Prof. Lionel Walsh, Mr. Hussein Zarif and 1 TBA senate decanal/faculty member. Given the importance of the position to the University, it is best that the Senate have the opportunity to elect the new member. A call for Nominations is now being issued to all Senate members.

#### Excerpt from Bylaw 14:

**2.2.1** There shall be a Search Committee composed of the President, as Chair, **four members elected from** the decanal and faculty members of Senate by the Senate, a student member of Senate elected by the Senate, two members from and appointed by the Board of Governors, and an Employment Equity/Procedures Assessor (EE/PA) [non-voting]. The Senate shall either elect the decanal, faculty and student members of the Search Committee at a meeting held for the purpose or upon the request of the Chair of Senate, the Clerk of the Senate shall conduct the election.

2.2.2 Both genders shall be represented on the Search Committee. \*\*

If you wish to submit a <u>nomination for a decanal/faculty senate member</u> please do so by filling out the attached nomination form and returning it to Maria Giampuzzi, Office of the University Secretariat, Room 201 Health Education Centre - Toldo. Please find a copy of the 2013-2014 Senate eligibility list attached.

<sup>\*\*</sup>NB: where there is only one male or one female nomination from among the decanal/faculty members of Senate, that member shall be acclaimed to the Search Committee.



#### Eligibility List.docx



#### Nomination Form.docx

## **Decanal Faculty Nominations**

\*Please note: If your nominee will be going on sabbatical during the time that the search committee may be meeting please take that into consideration.

#### **Election Process**

Nominations (signed by the nominator and the nominee) are due in the Office of the University Secretariat, Room 201 Health Education Centre, by 4:00pm, Wednesday, March 12, 2014. Nominations will also be open to the floor at the March 14, 2014 Senate meeting. Please keep in mind that if you are nominating someone on the floor of Senate who will not be present at the Friday, March 14, 2014 meeting, their name appearing on the eligibility list, you must ensure that you have a signed copy of the nomination form at the meeting, with both the nominee and nominators signatures. The nominations garnered prior to the meeting and the nominations received on the floor of Senate will be placed on a ballot. Once nominations have ceased, voting will take place by secret ballot at the March 14, 2014 Senate meeting.

Thanking you in advance, Maria

# **SENATE 2013-2014**

#### **ELIGIBLE FACULTY/DECANAL MEMBERS**

#### Ex officio members

Dr. N. Wright

Dr. M. Koschinsky

Dr. P. Weir

Dr. A. Conway

Dr. M. Saif

Dr. M. Khan

Prof. C. Cameron

Dr. L. Patrick

Ms. G. Ebbett

Dr. P. Dutton

### **Elected representatives of Faculties**

# Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr. A. Scoboria

Dr. R. Menna

Dr. J. Grant

Dr. A. Rossini

Dr. P. Selmi

Dr. G. Cradock

Dr. A. Forrest

Dr. K. Quinsey

Dr. J. Luft

Dr. M. Hamil

### **Odette School of Business**

Dr. J. Singh

Dr. F. Baki

Dr. M. Gowing

#### **Faculty of Education**

Dr. B. Daly

# **Faculty of Engineering**

Dr. M. Mirhassani

Dr. A. Asfour

Dr. W. ElMaraghy

Dr. K. Tepe

### **Faculty of Human Kinetics**

Dr. K. Milne

Dr. M. Taks

### **Faculty of Law**

Prof. L. Wilson

Prof. D. Eansor

# **Faculty of Nursing**

Dr. L. Freeman-Gibb

#### **Faculty of Science**

Dr. M. Crawford

Dr. C. Macdonald

Dr. Z. Kobti

Dr. E. Maeva

Dr. P. Graniero

Dr. C. Trudeau

Dr. R. Caron

# **Library Representatives**

Ms. S. Munro

Ms. S. Zhao

#### Elected representatives-at-large

Dr. R. Balachandar

Dr. Y. Daniel

Dr. S. Towson

Dr. M. Muldoon

Dr. D. Northwood

Ms. J. Soutter

Dr. X. Yuan

Dr. N. McNevin

Dr. S. Paul

#### **Elected representative of the Faculty Association**

Dr. P. Boulos

# **NOMINATION FORM**

Го:	Maria Giampuzzi Senate Elections Manager Room 201 Health Education Centre - Toldo.	
Re:	Nominations for Senate Representative o Academic	n the Search Committee for Provost and Vice-President,
nomi	nate Senator	to serve as a faculty/decanal
	Please print the name of entative on the Search Committee for the Pro	clearly)
		SIGNATURE – NOMINATOR
		(Please print your name under your signature.)
		I accept the nomination.

Nominations are due no later than 4:00pm, Wednesday, March 12, 2014 Attention: Maria Giampuzzi, Room 201 Health Education Centre - Toldo,