Alumni Association to honour outstanding mentors

The University of Windsor Alumni Association will confer its Excellence in Mentoring Award on two veteran members of faculty—and UWindsor grads—during its annual general meeting on Thursday, November 15.

The award recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated excellence by offering personal, academic and professional guidance to students, and made a significant contribution to their all-round development up to and following graduation.

This year’s recipients are law professor Donna Marie Eansor (LLB 1980) and kinesiology professor Margery Holman (BA 1968, BPE 1969).

Donna Marie Eansor

Donna Marie Eansor.

Eansor is among the Ontario university and college faculty members selected by an external independent ministry-appointed committee as a recipient of the 2007 Leadership in Faculty Teaching award for teaching excellence, leadership, and innovation in teaching methods. A former associate dean, she has a long-standing interest in student wellness, academic support, and issues of aboriginality, racialization, gender, and disability.

Dr. Holman graduated in the university’s first class of the physical and health education program. She went on to teach and devoted her entire career to that program. In 1988, she created a landmark course on Gender in Sport and Physical Activity. Her commitment to excellence and equity and her love of sport has touched every student and former student in kinesiology.

The November 15 event will begin with a cocktail reception at 5 p.m. in the CAW Student Centre’s Ambassador Auditorium before the formal program begins at 6 p.m. The meeting and awards presentation are open to the public. If you plan to attend, RSVP by November 9 online at or e-mail

Register now for Alumni Sports Hall of Fame reception

Don’t miss your chance—RSVP now for the 2012 induction ceremonies for the Alumni Sports Hall of Fame, on Sunday, November 11, at 2:30 p.m. in the Ambassador Auditorium.

This year’s inductees include pentathlete Beth (Stroud) MacIntosh (BHK 1995, BEd 1997, MHK 1998), Don Hollerhead (BPE 1975, BEd 1976) of the 1975 Yates Cup-winning Lancer football team, and basketball standouts Georgia Risnita (BA 1998) and Dan Devin (BA 1976, BEd 1977).

RSVP to or 519-971-3618.

Academic Area: