Douglas Kneale, Patti Lauzon, Tranum Kaur, Chris HouserChemistry professor Tranum Kaur (third from left) accepts congratulations on her Excellence in Mentoring Award from UWindsor president Douglas Kneale, alumni communications director Patti Lauzon, and dean of science Chris Houser during the Celebration of Teaching Excellence, Nov. 21 in the Alumni Auditorium.

Reception celebrates teaching award winners

More than 250 faculty, staff, and students gathered to honour UWindsor national and university-level teaching award-winning instructors at the 13th annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence, Nov. 21 in the Alumni Auditorium.

Among the highlights, Judy Bornais was celebrated for receiving the 3M Teaching Fellowship — the University’s fourth recipient in the past 10 years — and drama professor Esther Van Eek received the Educational Achievement Award from the Canadian Institute for Theatre Technology.

The event, hosted by the Centre for Teaching and Learning and co-sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Office of Open Learning, also featured instructors who received campus-wide, faculty-wide, and student-initiated awards.

“We celebrate not just the extraordinary faculty, students, and instructors whose achievements will be specifically recognized, but also the collective impact of our efforts to engage students in and out of the classroom,” said Jeff Berryman, acting provost. “I am very proud to be part of this community of teachers and learners.”

Visit the centre’s website for a full list of award winners, as well as videos from the event.