Teresa Carlesimo

Art grad recognized for outstanding sculpture achievement

The International Sculpture Center has conferred upon recent UWindsor grad Teresa Carlesimo (BFA 2011) its Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award for 2012.

The annual award recognizes young sculptors to encourage their continued commitment to the field. It also draws attention to the sculpture programs of the participating art schools.

“I was very flattered and very thankful,” says Carlesimo, who notes her interest in examining the idealism of twentieth century architecture and planning as well as related political, social and economic issues.

Art grads occupy local gallery for Mayworks exhibition

Several alumni of the School of Visual Arts are participating in collaborative projects now on display in the Artcite gallery.

A free public reception on Friday, May 4, will celebrate Occupy This! The exhibition features the “Occupy Windsor Documentation Project” by Alana Bartol (BFA 2004) and Collette Broeders (BFA 2006) and “The Break Room” by Teresa Carlesimo (BFA 2011) and Michael DiRisio, an MFA candidate.

The show will be up through May 26; Friday’s reception begins at 7:30 p.m. Artcite is located at 109 University Avenue West.

Artists-in-residence to discuss practices

The five artists participating in the School of Visual Arts’ Emerging Artist Research Residency will discuss their work and practices in free public presentations, May 3 and 4 in the LeBel Building.

The residents will have access to the school’s facilities through the month of May so that they might cultivate new ideas through research, studio production, and the exploration of the Windsor-Detroit border region.

Reception to mark closing of graduating art student exhibition

A head of cabageA free public reception on Friday, December 2, will celebrate the closing of Awkward (in) tension – the Bachelor of Fine Arts in Visual Arts graduate group exhibition, now on display in the LeBel Building’s Project Gallery.

Participating artists include Teresa Carlesimo, Jillian Fergusson, Arturo Herrera and Lindsay Whalen. Friday’s reception begins at 7 p.m.