Frank EwasyshynRetired Chrysler executive Frank Ewasyshyn will receive the Alumni Award of Merit on Thursday.

Grad accomplishments to be honoured by Alumni Association

Two UWindsor graduates will be recognized by the Alumni Association for their distinguished personal and career accomplishments during the association’s annual general meeting beginning at 5 p.m. Thursday, November 20, in the CAW Student Centre’s Ambassador Auditorium.

Former automotive executive Frank Ewasyshyn (BASc 1974, MASc 1976, MBA 1989, LLD 2001) and broadcaster Anna Maria Tremonti (BA 1977, BA 1978, LLD 2001) will be this year’s recipients of the Alumni Award of Merit, which recognizes outstanding accomplishments which have brought honour to the university, for contributions to the community, or for outstanding personal service to the university.

Frank Ewasyshyn is a Windsor native who spent his entire professional life at Chrysler, beginning as a maintenance foreman in 1976. Throughout his career he held a number of positions in the company, including production manager; director of advanced manufacturing engineering; general manager of large and small car platform assembly; vice-president of advance manufacturing engineering, and executive vice president of manufacturing, a position he held until his retirement in 2009. He is credited as a leader in the manufacturing technology field and notably led the Chrysler Group’s ambitious plan to improve the flexibility of its manufacturing operations.

Anna Maria TremontiAnna Maria Tremonti started her journalistic career at the University of Windsor as a reporter with the Lance student newspaper. She served as a foreign correspondent for CBC Television’s news program The National, based in Berlin, London, Jerusalem and Washington from 1991 through 2000, has been a political reporter on Parliament Hill and has covered local and political news across the country for both radio and television. Tremonti has been the host of CBC Radio’s current affairs program The Current since its creation in 2002.

Education professor Dragana Martinovic will receive the Excellence in Mentoring Award during the program.