award winners Domenic Iacobelli, Joe Lichaa, Joyceln Lorito, Lorraine Grondin and Lucy FormicucciaPresident Alan Wildeman (far left) and chief human resources officer Rita LaCivita (far right) congratulate award winners Domenic Iacobelli, Joe Lichaa, Joyceln Lorito, Lorraine Grondin and Lucy Formicuccia.

Employee contributions receive recognition

Being recognized—and recognizing others—builds a supportive and positive workplace, chief human resources officer Rita LaCivita said Wednesday as she opened the Employee Recognition Awards Reception.

The event celebrates contributions of employees to the achievement of the University’s mission, she said: “an ideal way to start our New Year.”

Joyceln Lorito, residence life coordinator, won the Service Excellence Award for individuals in their first five years of UWindsor employment.

“I have only been here for 20 months,” she said. “It’s nice to be recognized for something you truly love to do.”

Lorito believes her work helps to condition students in their life struggles and teaches them valuable lessons, a viewpoint echoed in letters supporting her nomination.

“Because of Joyceln, I feel I am a better residence assistant and a better person,” LaCivita read from the nomination package. “She makes me want to do well and continue to foster success in UWindsor students.”

Lorito’s mother, part of a family contingent that drove from Fort Erie to attend the reception, said she wasn’t surprised to see her daughter win recognition.

“Joyceln has always been a hard worker and over-achiever,” she said. “She puts other people ahead of herself.”

Other award winners honoured Thursday include:

  • Custodian Domenic Iacobelli and technologist Joe Lichaa of the chemistry and biochemistry department, Individual Service Excellence Awards;
  • Linda Breschuk, Sarah Cats, Mark Gryn, Shelby Marchand and Shelly Scurr of the office of the dean of engineering, Team Service Excellence Award;
  • Lorraine Grondin, assistant - administrative and finance to the dean of engineering, Excellence in Leadership Award;
  • Lucy Formicuccia, administrative assistant to the dean of the library, Excellence in Health and Safety Award.

Lichaa said he appreciated the recognition program.

“It’s nice to know that you’re acknowledged amongst your peers,” he said. “The interaction with the students on a daily basis is a reward in itself.”

Office of the dean of engineering
Mark Gryn, Shelby Marchand, Shelly Scurr, Sarah Cats and (missing from photo) Linda Breschuk of engineering received the Team Service Excellence Award.