Odette School of Business announces key additions to World Health Innovation Network team

The newest additions to the academic team at the World Health Innovation Network (WIN) bring with them expertise in numerous disciplines that will strengthen the goal of advancing health system sustainability and economic growth, says dean Allan Conway.

“We are thrilled to welcome the newest members of our growing team of extremely talented and dedicated health care professionals to WIN,” says Dr. Conway. “Through this group of adjunct faculty members and health leaders-in-residence, we are continuing to build bridges between industry leaders, our faculty, and our student—both in Canada and in the U.S.”

Through mentorship and scholarship, the growing WIN academic team will continue to cultivate a field of skilled, specialized entrepreneurs and professionals to build capacity for advancing innovative health products, processes and technologies.

“These groups of experts bring with them unique skillsets and credentials which add great value to WIN’s approach to solving the complex challenges facing health systems,” says Anne Snowdon, the network’s chair. “We are already anticipating the significant contribution these key team members will provide to WIN accomplishing its important mandate.”

The following individuals have joined the WIN academic team:

Adjunct Faculty

  • Iris Ko currently serves as a professor in Georgian College’s Research Analyst Postgraduate Program. During her tenure in the Ontario government, she received multiple Ministry of Finance Stella Awards, among other awards of excellence.
  • Donald E. Lighter, MD, has nearly 40 years’ experience in the health care industry and currently serves as a professor and core faculty for the Physicians’ Executive MBA program at the University of Tennessee and as director of the Institute for Healthcare Quality Research and Education.
  • Tom McGowan, MD, has served on numerous provincial and national committees and currently serves as the managing director of the Cancer Centre Bahamas and of the Cancer Centre Eastern Caribbean.
  • Dave Williams, MD, Canadian astronaut and physician, is currently the president of Southlake Regional Heath Centre and assistant professor of surgery at the University of Toronto.

Read complete biographies of WIN’s adjunct faculty.

Health Leaders-In-Residence

  • Elaine Chin, MD, is a North American leader in personalized medicine and is the founder of Executive Health Centre. Currently she serves as the chief wellness officer at TELUS Communications.
  • Sarah Padfield is a health system innovation leader who has built and supported transformational technology, system and quality of care projects both within her organization and across the Erie St. Clair region. Currently she serves as chief operating officer of the Chatham-Kent Health Alliance.
  • James Phillips is a businessman and speaker who holds degrees in accounting, an MBA in corporate management and is an honorary doctor of commercial science. He has received numerous awards of distinction and is now president of CAN/AM Border Trade Alliance.

Read complete biographies of WIN’s health leaders-in-residence.

The network’s main areas of focus include supporting world-leading research to provide value for the health sector, helping to ensure that Canadian discoveries and innovations have access to the key enablers necessary for adoption and scalability in health systems both in North America and abroad. For more information, visit www.worldhealthinnovationnetwork.com.

Academic Area: