Philosopher honoured for contributions to equity

The Windsor University Faculty Association has named philosophy professor Catherine Hundleby its 2020 recipient of the Mary Lou Dietz Equity Leadership Award.

The association’s Status of Women, Diversity and Equity Action Committee bestows the award to honour individuals who demonstrate leadership through their contributions to creating an equity culture on campus. The award is named after Mary Lou Dietz, a late UWindsor faculty member and head of the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminology, in recognition of her contributions to the advancement of women in Canadian universities and colleges.

Catherine HundlebyDr. Hundleby has been a champion of inclusion, diversity, and equity in the Department of Philosophy, the University of Windsor, and the discipline of philosophy across North America and Europe.

She works and has been a force for change in a discipline which is still male dominated. Within her own field of philosophy of science and argumentation studies, Hundlby has pioneered new directions to feminist epistemology and theories of argumentation.

A leading member of the Canadian Society for Women in Philosophy and the Association of Feminist Epistemologies, Methodologies, Metaphysics and Science Studies, Hundleby has been a mentor to generations of philosophy students.

Learn more about her achievements on the WUFA website.

The association will celebrate Hundleby’s outstanding commitment, contributions, and accomplishments to diversity and equity with a virtual award presentation at 3 p.m. on Wednesday, May 5, over Microsoft Teams. Guest speaker Carla Fehr holds the Wolfe Chair in Scientific and Technological Literacy at the University of Waterloo, is a co-founder and co-editor of Feminist Philosophy Quarterly, and a founder of the American Philosophical Association Committee on the Status of Women.

RSVP by e-mail at by May 1 to receive a link to the event.