Part-time students recognize campus contributions with awards presentation

John Powell said it was “truly an honour” to be recognized by the Organization of Part-time University Students at its 20th annual awards dinner Thursday, but that isn’t why he loves his job.

“I have the fortune to be able to play a role in telling the stories of students, faculty and staff across campus,” the University’s director of Web development said. “Certainly the work I do is reflected in efforts to advance the University.”

Powell was among the staff, students and faculty honoured for their outstanding contributions to the success of part-time students during the banquet, held at the Caboto Club. In addition to the awards presentations, the event included performances by the Hoa Sen dancers; two music students, the Jordan Sherman Duo; and poet Amina Abdulle reading original works.

This year’s OPUS award recipients are:

  • Friend of Students Award: Gregory Marcotte, registrar
  • Teacher of the Year Award: Stephen Brooks, political science
  • Volunteer of the Year Award: Barbara Maitre
  • Faculty Awards: Erica Stevens Abbitt, drama, and Randy Lippert, sociology
  • Support Staff Awards: John Powell, public affairs and communications, and Joyce Pohjola, Catering Services
  • Disability Campus Community Recognition Award: Rosemary Briscoe, Campus Police
  • Student with Disability Achievement Award: Paul Cowan
  • Alumni Association Academic Achievement Award: Mike Binder
  • Alumni Association First Year Part-time Undergraduate Student Award: Brittany Lepera
  • Wayne Girard Leadership Memorial Award: Ferial Bachir
  • Ken Long Memorial Award: Lisa Milne
  • Mary C. Schisler Award in Dramatic Art: Roberto Ercoli
  • Dr. Kathleen McCrone Award: Helen Girgenti
  • Appreciation Award: Vajo Stajic, OPUS Director at Large

Bernarda Camello-Doctor, a member of the OPUS board of directors and a UWindsor student since 1961, received a special award for Going the Extra Mile from Clayton Smith, vice-provost, students and international.