Medal winners fêted as top-achieving grads

The University of Windsor’s 105th Convocation ceremonies commence Tuesday, June 14, at the St. Denis Centre.

Among almost 3,200 graduands who will receive their degrees this week are winners of the Board of Governors Medals, awarded to the graduating student with the highest academic standing in each program:

  • Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences general program — Arts, Grant Arthur Pennington
  • Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences general program — Social Science, Jessica Marie Lappan
  • Inter-Faculty Programs, Bayan Aloran
  • Biological Sciences, Secondino D’Andrea
  • Business Administration, Boyuan Wang
  • Chemistry and Biochemistry, Matthew Luke Devereaux
  • Communication, Media and Film, Christina Bresolin
  • Computer Science, Cole Michael Gilbert
  • Dramatic Art, Kathlene Olson
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences, Taryn Lynn Azzopardi
  • Economics, Simranzeet Singh Vig
  • Education (concurrent), Brittany Ives
  • English Language, Literature and Creative Writing, Susan Glenda Lindsay
  • General Program — Science, Urvashi Katiyar
  • History, Kayla Victoria Dettinger
  • Kinesiology, Nicole Christina George
  • Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Hannah Victoria Robinson
  • Law, Josianne Rocca
  • Law — Dual JD, Andrea Stempien
  • Mathematics and Statistics, Katherine Ann Vrantsidis
  • Music, Nadia Olimpia Santoro
  • Nursing, Melissa Borthwick
  • Philosophy, Brigham Harrison Bartol
  • Physics, Vlora Alicia Riberdy
  • Political Science, Adam Gregory R.W. Zvric
  • Psychology, Rebecca Clare Pillon
  • Social Work, Andie Maria Hunter
  • Sociology, Anthropology and Criminology, Dana Louise Carson
  • Visual Arts, Yiru Chen
  • Women’s and Gender Studies, Thaeann Melanie Bennett

The Centre for Teaching and Learning produces a high-quality webcast of all convocation sessions, streamed live here. Professionally produced DVDs of each session may be purchased online at