Banner ShieldThe Banner Shield for outstanding Lancer female athlete of the year is one of the major awards to be conferred during Wednesday’s athletic banquet.

Lancers to celebrate academic and athletic achievement

The Department of Athletics and Recreational Services has announced the nominees for major awards in advance of the Lancers Evening of Excellence banquet, to be held Wednesday, April 5, at the St. Clair Centre for the Arts.

The annual event celebrates the accomplishments of student athletes, recognizing their scholastic and sporting achievements. It will see the conferral of a number of awards, including the following among the most prestigious.

The DeMarco Awards honour those who best combine academics and athletics. This year’s female nominees are Sarah Mitton (track and field), Emily Prevost (basketball) and Jillian Rops (hockey). On the men’s side are Nick MacMackin (cross country, track and field), Mike Rocca (basketball), and Carlos Soares (soccer).

Nominated for the Banner Shield as outstanding female athlete of the year are Abby Hunt (soccer), Krystin Lawrence (hockey and soccer), and Cheyanne Roger (basketball).

Nominees for the Olympic Shield as outstanding male athlete of the year include Corey Bellemore (cross country and track), Tarrence Crawford (football), and Eli Pawliw (track and field).

Head coaches Steve Hart of women’s soccer, Gary Malloy of cross country and Chantal Vallée of women’s basketball are up for the Gino Fracas Coach of the Year award.

Find a full list of nominees, including outstanding rookies, sophomores, and team captains, at