award recipients with Alan Wildeman and Rita LaCivitaUWindsor president Alan Wildeman (left) and VP human resources Rita LaCivita (right) congratulate employees who have contributed 25 years of service.

Luncheon honours UWindsor employees for 25 years of service

On May 3, the University of Windsor recognized 15 employees who in 2017 reached the 25 years of service milestone.

More than 90 faculty, staff, and guests attended the luncheon held at the Alumni Auditorium to mark this special milestone and celebrate the dedication and outstanding contributions of the honorees.

Rita LaCivita, vice-president, human resources, congratulated employees: “Our mission can only be achieved through the many contributions of our faculty and staff. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you all for your commitment to making the University the best place to work, learn and grow and for helping our students realize that they have a future Full of Promise.”

Lina Nardone and Janee Stallard were among the employees honoured.

Currently secretary to the associate dean of the Faculty of Education, Nardone was lauded for the significant role she played in the success of the additional qualifications program. In looking back at the last 25 years, she states: “The University of Windsor has not only helped secure my success, but for my family as well, and I am truly grateful.”

Stallard, assistant to the dean of the Faculty of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences ,was lauded for her leadership and for enabling deans to be successful in their roles.

“The last 25 years at the U have been ever changing both in terms of our campus and work,” she says. “No two days are ever the same, especially here in the dean’s office.”

Faculty and staff members honoured included:

  • Cindy Anstett, Housekeeping and Grounds
  • Nancy Barkley, Biological Sciences
  • Deborah Bastien, Housekeeping and Grounds
  • Sharon Horne, Kinesiology
  • Michael Houston, Student Accessibility Services
  • Allan Laporte, Leddy Library
  • Catherine Maskell, Leddy Library
  • Lina Nardone, Faculty of Education
  • Michelle Nohra, Campus Community Police
  • Sandra Ondracka, Athletics and Recreational Services
  • Tracy Ringrose, Maintenance Services
  • Charlene Senn, Psychology
  • Janee Stallard, Faculty of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
  • Darrell Strand, Housekeeping and Grounds
  • Xay Tang, Information Technology Services

Employees received a gift and a certificate as a small token of appreciation for their commitment and contributions to the success of the University.