Deadline approaching to RSVP for OPUS awards event

Monday, Nov. 8, is the deadline to RSVP to join the Organization of Part-time University Students for its 29th annual awards banquet, recognizing part-time undergrad students, professors, and staff members for “Going the Extra Mile.”

This year’s event will be conducted virtually at 5 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 17. Honorees include:

  • Wayne Girard Memorial Leadership Award: Erica Gowanlock;
  • Alumni Association First-Year Part-Time Undergraduate Student Award: Imran Sehrai;
  • Alumni Association Academic Achievement Award: Alissa Cosgrove;
  • Ken Long Memorial Award: Lisa Milne;
  • Mary C. Schisler Award in the Arts: Maria Belenkova-Buford;
  • Student with Disability Achievement Award: Shawn Florence;
  • Dr. Kathleen McCrone Award: Eric Hoffman;
  • Dr. Kai Hildebrandt Part-time Student Award: Tissan McSween;
  • Dr. Susan Wendt Hildebrandt Part-time Student Award: Stephanie Thomson;
  • V.E.K. Ternoey Second Chance Award: Zahra Elahi;
  • Teacher of the Year Award: Robert Weir;
  • Faculty Award: Scott Mattson;
  • TA/GA Award: Justin Grainger;
  • Support Staff Awards: Judy Janzen, Chris O’Gorman, Zora Savic;
  • Friend of Students Award: Chris Houser;
  • Staff/Faculty Leadership Award: Anouchka Plumb;
  • Senior Administrative Leadership Award: Sandra Aversa;
  • Board Appreciation Awards: Sameena Sultana, Edy Haddad;
  • Partnership Award: Green Shield Canada;
  • Student Leader Appreciation Award: Petar Bratic.

RSVP to to receive the link to join online the celebration of these contributors towards a rewarding experience for part-time and mature undergraduate students at the University of Windsor. Find more details on the event website.