EDI Award recipientsThe EDI Awards Celebration will celebrate seven honorees on April 3.

Awards honour contributions towards a more inclusive campus community

Recipients of the 2024 EDI Awards are the guests of honour at a reception hosted by the Office of the Vice-President Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion on April 3.

These awards honour, celebrate, and shine a light on individuals and teams who have made significant contributions towards building a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive campus community and who have demonstrated an unwavering commitment to addressing the systemic barriers, contemporary and historical injustices, and inequities experienced by Indigenous peoples, people with disabilities, racialized people, the 2SLGBTQQIA+ community, women, and other equity-deserving groups.

The OVPEDI and the EDI Awards Committee congratulate and commend all nominees whose outstanding contributions are advancing equity and justice on campus and in the community.

The award recipients include:

  • Faculty Award - Anthony N. Ezeife, professor emeritus/adjunct, Faculty of Education
  • Staff Award - John Hayward, research associate, Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Student Award - Willow Key, graduate student, History
  • Alumni Award - Irene Moore Davis, author, educator, historian
  • Aspire Award - Dusty Johnstone, director, Sexual Violence Prevention, Resistance and Support
  • Committee/Team Award - Menstrual Equity Initiative Team: Shae Harasym, John Regier, Dave Schultz, Anmol Nagra, and Mariam Morra
  • Community Award - Art Windsor-Essex (Waawiiatanong Forever photography and postcard project)

Awards will be presented at the EDI Awards Celebration to be held at 3 p.m. April 3 in Alumni Auditorium, CAW Student Centre. Individuals interested in joining the celebration are asked to RSVP before the deadline of March 27 at www.uwindsor.ca/vp-people-equity-inclusion/439/edi-awards-celebration-rsvp.

For more information email EDIawards@uwindsor.ca.

Strategic Priority: