Three Lancers among men’s hockey division all-stars

Two veteran Lancer men’s hockey players were among the west division’s major award winners announced Wednesday by Ontario University Athletics, and three members of the team were named all-stars.

Steve Ferry was named defenceman of the year, after finishing the regular season with eight goals and 16 assists, for a total of 24 points, good for second at his position. Ferry is a key cog in the Lancers’ game plans, playing on the power play, penalty kill and against opponents’ top lines. He was also named a first team all-star, after earning second team status a year ago.

Fifth-year forward and Lancer captain Brett Vandehogen is the OUA nominee for the Randy Gregg Award, which goes to the player who best exhibits outstanding achievement in hockey, academics and community involvement. Vandehogen collected nine goals and seven assists this year, he earns top grades in pursuit of his teaching degree, and his community involvement includes serving as part of the Lancers Against Bullying campaign in local elementary schools, and leading his team to New Orleans multiple times to provide relief and assistance to victims of Hurricane Katrina.

Joining Ferry as a first team all-star is forward Evan Stibbard, who scored 18 goals to lead the team and added 19 assists. It marks the first all-star nod for Stibbard, and follows a 2012 stint on the west division all-rookie team.

Spencer Pommells had a breakout year. The sophomore forward notched 38 points, topping the team, and earned a place on the divisional second team all-star roster.

The Lancers are currently taking on Waterloo in the OUA West final series this week, with a spot in the national and provincial championship tournaments on the line. The Warriors took the opener 3-2 in an overtime decision Wednesday; Ferry and Pommells each scored a power play goal in the loss.

Windsor will look to the series up with a win Saturday night on the road. If necessary, the series-deciding game three will take place Sunday at Windsor Arena. Puck drop is set for 7:30 p.m. Learn more at