Award recipients at the 2014 OPUS banquetRSVPs are due by Friday for the 23rd OPUS Annual Awards Banquet.

OPUS awards banquet to honour faculty, staff and students

RSVPs are due by Friday, March 6, for the Organization of Part-time University Students (OPUS) 23rd Annual Awards Banquet.

The event, Thursday, March 26, in the CAW Student Centre’s Ambassador Auditorium, recognizes contributions by UWindsor faculty, staff, alumni and part-time undergraduate students to campus life.

This year’s award recipients are:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Anthony Meloche, OPUS vice president;
  • Friend of Students Award: Bruce Tucker, associate vice-president, academic;
  • Teacher of the Year Award: Brian MacPherson, philosophy;
  • Faculty Awards: Shelagh Towson, psychology, and Brian Brown, visual arts;
  • Support Staff Awards:  Martin Deck, Campus Bookstore; Martin Vaughan, Centre for Teaching and Learning; Susan McKee, School of Creative Arts;
  • Appreciation Awards: Campus Dental Centre; Erin Plumb, Mahbub Khoda, Mike Livingston and Peter Soteros, OPUS Directors at Large;
  • Alumni Association Academic Achievement Award: Jacqueline Lee;
  • Alumni Association First Year Part-time Undergraduate Student Award: Renee Blanchette;
  • Wayne Girard Leadership Memorial Award: Nicole Lynch;
  • Dr. Kathleen McCrone Award: Christopher McCoy.

Eight part-time undergraduate students received OPUS bursaries valued at $500 each.

For more information, please contact the organization at 519-971-3603 or e-mail