Meaghen QuinnDrama professor Meaghen Quinn received an Innovation Award for Service and Recruitment from Nancy Wright, dean of the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

Awards celebrate innovation and achievements in arts, humanities and social sciences

Graduating from the UWindsor drama program, combined with her professional experiences since, has given Meaghen Quinn (BFA Acting 2001) an ability to connect with prospective students—and their parents.

Now an instructor in the School of Dramatic Art, she loves being able to work with her colleagues and mentors to recruit new students.

“I had a positive experience when I was a student,” she says. “It's a privilege to be teaching here and in a position that allows me to promote the School of Dramatic Art.”

Quinn was one of two winners of the inaugural Innovation Award for Service and Recruitment, conferred at the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences end-of-year celebration December 8.

She says that coming directly from industry gives her the ability to discuss employment prospects with those considering entering the field.

Since joining the UWindsor faculty, she has led Changing the Odds, a theatre camp for at-risk youth. It engages the teenaged participants while providing experience to drama students.

“I am beginning to make connections to the community and invest in Windsor,” says Quinn. “We are creating connections that our students will be able to make use of later.”

The second winner of the service and recruitment award is Tamsin Bacon, an information literacy librarian and—since 2014—coordinator of the aeronautics leadership program. She has been active in drawing enrolment to the program, a specialization within liberal and professional studies.

She says she appreciated the honour.

“It’s nice to get recognized,” Bacon says. “Everybody on campus works so hard. Listening to the citations at the celebration event, we heard about so many amazing things.”

The awards, presented by dean Nancy Wright, were a first for the faculty. Other honorees included:

  • Innovation Award for Teaching
    Debra Hernandez-Jozefowicz, Robert Nelson, Heidi Jacobs
  • Innovation Award for Teaching and Service
    Chris Abeare
  • Innovation Award for Recruitment
    Ronjon Paul Datta
  • Innovation Award for Service
    Simon du Toit, David Court, Anna Galka, Nancy St. Onge, Kelly Element

Dr. Wright plans to make the awards celebration an annual event.