Douglas Kneale congratulates Veronika MogyorodyProvost Douglas Kneale congratulates Veronika Mogyorody of the School of Creative Arts, recipient of a 3M Teaching Fellowship. Dr. Mogyorody points to a monitor patching in her mother through Skype for the ceremony.

Excelling nationally and provincially: UWindsor celebrates teaching award winners

Hundreds of faculty, staff, and students gathered to honour more than 40 UWindsor national, provincial, and university-level teaching award-winning instructors at the 11th annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence, November 16 in the Ambassador Auditorium.

The event, hosted by the Centre for Teaching and Learning and co-sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Office of Open Learning, recognized these professors’ important contributions to the culture of teaching and learning at the University.

Among the many highlights, Veronika Mogyorody was the recipient of the 3M Teaching Fellowship, which is considered the most prestigious recognition of post-secondary teaching excellence in the country. Colleagues applaud her enthusiasm and continuous work at enhancing the culture of teaching and learning: “Her footprint is all over education, and in particular the training of young people … her main goal is a message of hope.”

Kinesiology professor Dave Andrews received the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) Excellence in Teaching Award, to which a student remarked, the department “wouldn’t be the family that it is without you.” This year the 29 UWindsor professors who have earned the OCUFA Excellence in Teaching Award since its inception 40 years ago were also recognized.

Alan Wright, vice-provost, teaching and learning, noted that the University has enjoyed particular success provincially since 2006, as UWindsor is second among 21 Ontario universities in the OCUFA Award competition over the last 10 years.

“We have excellent teachers at UWindsor,” he said. “It’s important for us to brag a bit sometimes.”

This year also saw the launch of two new University-wide awards, the University of Windsor Educational Leadership Award, and the Dr. Alan Wright Award for Exemplary Online and Technology-Enhanced Teaching.

Visit the centre’s website for a full list of award winners, as well as video and photos from the event.