Illustration of OHREA Awards symbols.

Awards celebrate dedication to human rights

The Office of Human Rights, Equity and Accessibility (OHREA) is celebrating its annual OHREA Awards with a virtual introduction by director Kaye Johnson and UWindsor president Rob Gordon, set to launch today at noon through this link.

The OHREA Awards recognize and celebrate the contributions made by individuals and groups who advance human rights, social justice, inclusivity, employment equity, mental health, and accessibility at the University of Windsor and the broader community.

A call for nominations was issued to the campus community. Award recipients were determined by a committee based on the individual or group’s demonstrated dedication to human rights, their contributions that led to the improvement or promotion of human rights, and activity that fostered a culture of inclusivity at the University.

OHREA Awards are presented in the areas of:

  • Accessibility
  • Employment Equity
  • Human Rights and Social Justice
  • Mental Health Champion
  • The OHREA Award (General Human Rights Improvement or Promotion)

This year’s recipients are:

  • Luka Mlinarevic, Pavneet Sarao, Alea McLellan, Jasmine Bull, and Saifaldin Abdelhamid, students under capstone co-ordinator Colin Novak, associate professor of Mechanical, Materials and Automotive Engineering — Accessibility Award
  • Karen Pillon, associate University Librarian — Employment Equity Award
  • Danardo S. Jones, assistant professor in the Faculty of Law — Human Rights and Social Justice Award
  • Krista Chandler, professor of human kinetics — Mental Health Champion Award
  • Lacy Carty, legal counsel for the Windsor-Essex Children's Aid Society — OHREA Award

Videos featuring interviews with each of this year’s recipients will be launched daily the week of Monday, Dec. 12, through the UWindsor YouTube and social media channels.