University officials join representatives of student governmentUniversity officials join representatives of student government to honour award recipients at the 2015 OPUS banquet.

Part-time student government to honour faculty, staff and students

The Organization of Part-time University Students (OPUS) will recognize contributions to campus life by UWindsor faculty, staff, alumni and part-time undergraduate students, during its annual awards banquet, March 24 in the Winclare Room, Vanier Hall.

This year’s award recipients are:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Christopher Baillargeon, OPUS treasurer;
  • Friend of Students Award: Anna Kirby, acting executive director, IT Services;
  • Volunteer of the Year Award: Sharmila Krishnamohan
  • Teacher of the Year Award: Lorenzo Buj, Languages, Literatures and Cultures;
  • Faculty Awards: Dusty Johnstone, women’s and gender studies; Mark Lubrick, open learning;
  • Support Staff Awards:  David Soderlund, Student Success Centre; Arpa Smith, IT Services; and Brian Joyce, Food Services;
  • Student Solidarity Award: Iftekhar Basith, president, Graduate Student Society;
  • Staff/Faculty Leadership Award: Clayton Smith, dean of students;
  • Alumni Association First Year Part-time Undergraduate Student Award: Adam Dagenais;
  • Wayne Girard Leadership Memorial Award: Christie Nelson.

Eight part-time undergraduate students received OPUS bursaries valued at $500 each. For more information, visit