Faculty association to honour law professor for contributions to equity

A reception May 2 will honour law professor Laverne Jacobs as the 2018 recipient of the Mary Lou Dietz Equity Leadership Award.

Laverne JacobsThe Windsor University Faculty Association’s Status of Women, Diversity and Equity Action Committee bestows the award to honour individuals who demonstrate leadership through their contributions to creating an equity culture on campus. The award is named after Mary Lou Dietz, a late UWindsor faculty member and head of the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminology, in recognition of her contributions to the advancement of women in Canadian universities and colleges.

In announcing her selection, the committee praised Dr. Jacobs for having distinguished herself as a pioneering scholar, teacher, and activist in the area of disability, accessibility, and human rights law. As a teacher, she has created innovative courses such as Law, Disability, and Social Change that combine multi-disciplinarity and social justice. On campus, she has increased the profile of the Faculty of Law as a leader in social justice. Read more in a brief citation on the association’s website.

The university community is invited to celebrate her commitment, contributions, and accomplishments to diversity and equity. The award presentation will begin at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 2, in the Freed Orman Commons, Assumption Hall, with a reception to follow.

RSVP by April 25 to wufa@uwindsor.ca or 519-253-3000, ext. 3365.