Charlene SennCharlene Senn, professor of psychology and women’s and gender studies, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

Professor recognized for work to combat violence against women

The Royal Society of Canada has elected psychology professor Charlene Senn a fellow of its Academy of Social Sciences, one of 102 individuals winning recognition from their peers for outstanding scholarly, scientific, and artistic achievement.

The society cited Dr. Senn’s ground-breaking work in understanding and preventing violence against women and girls.

Canada Research Chair in Sexual Violence, she holds a cross-appointment in the women’s and gender studies program. She developed the “Enhanced Assess, Acknowledge, Act” sexual assault resistance program, founded the Health Research Centre for the Study of Violence against Women, and co-founded the Bystander Initiative, which embeds sexual assault prevention and training into the academic curriculum.

“Charlene Senn applies social psychological theory and conducts rigorous research to better understand violence against women and girls and possible solutions,” the society said in a release noting her election as a fellow. “Her novel approach and expansion of sexual assault resistance education for young women to include sexuality education has produced the only intervention proven to dramatically reduce sexual violence experienced by women students.”

Chris Houser, UWindsor interim vice-president, research and innovation, called election as a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada among the most prestigious honours bestowed on academics in Canada.

“Charlene Senn has made tremendous contributions to scholarship on violence against women and girls and sexual assault resistance,” he said. “Her election is a testament to the high regard that the academic community holds for Dr. Senn.

“This honour helps to strengthen our institutional reputation that is critical to our ability to continue growing research, strategic partnerships, and recruit and retain the top faculty, staff, and students.”