Alumni Awards of Excellence The Alumni Awards of Excellence ceremony will honour six outstanding grads April 11.

Awards to honour excellence in alumni

Registration is now open for the annual Alumni Awards of Excellence ceremony, 5:30 p.m. Thursday, April 11, in the Alumni Auditorium, CAW Student Centre.

The evening will recognize the accomplishments of the 2024 awards recipients.

Alumni Award of Merit for distinguished accomplishments which have brought honour to the University of Windsor.

  • Jennifer Jones (BA 1991) served as president of Rotary International in 2022-23, the first woman in that office in the charity’s 118-year history. A communications executive, she is the founder of Media Street Productions Inc. and has dedicated her life to service and leadership. She has served as chair of the University of Windsor board of governors, Maryvale Adolescent and Family Services, and the Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Alumni Ambassador Award for significant achievements in professional, community, and volunteer work.

  • Beth Ann Prince (BA 1991) is the community investment manager at the WFCU Credit Union and represents the Alumni Association on the UWindsor Board of Governors. A community advocate, she has dedicated her time to serving on numerous boards and committees in Windsor-Essex, including a three-year term as president of the Windsor Regional Hospital Foundation, Transition to Betterness Comfort Care Tote Program, and the Windsor Yacht Club.

Alumni Odyssey Award for those in the early years of their career path, having distinguished themselves through successes in career endeavours, notable achievements in their local community or the University of Windsor, or through a significant or innovative achievement in their professional or personal life.

  • Franklin H. Ezenwa (BSc 2015) is a cloud developer at IBM Canada. Drawing on his personal experience as an international student, he authored three self-help books to assist other students achieve their goals while navigating life in Canada. He conducts workshops to help others live a life with purpose and fulfillment both personally and professionally.
  • Trevor Fairlie (BA 2015) is a lawyer called to the Bar of Ontario, currently practising securities regulatory law in Toronto and is an instructor at Osgoode Professional Development. A passionate community leader, he serves on the board of Start Proud as chair and Orchestra Toronto as vice-chair. He also co-founded the Canadian Association of LGBTQ2S+ Lawyers and chairs its governance committee.
  • Domenica Mediati (BFA 2015) is an interdisciplinary artist and a sessional instructor in the Faculty of Education and School of Creative Arts. In her role as research assistant and educational co-ordinator at Incubator Art Lab, she is the lead creative and intellectual collaborator on educational outreach programming which includes bioart and art-science workshops.
  • Hakeem Subair (BComm 2016) is the founder and CEO of 1 Million Teachers, dedicated to creating a world with enough high-quality teachers to ensure all children can access a proper education. He is an EDTech Fellow at Cambridge University and an adjunct professor of innovation and change management and artificial intelligence and entrepreneurship at St. Lawrence College.

Learn more about the Alumni Awards of Excellence, awards categories, and recipients on the event website.

The $50 admission includes a plated dinner. Purchase tickets here.