The University of Windsor is preparing for a safe return to campus. Learn More.

Annual OHREA Awards

The Office of Human Rights, Equity and Accessibility (OHREA) invites nominations for its annual OHREA awards that recognize the contributions of individuals and groups to advance human rights, social justice, diversity, inclusivity, employment equity, mental health and accessibility at the University of Windsor.

We are moving the OHREA Awards this year from December to February to acknowledge the United Nations World Day of Social Justice.  The virtual OHREA awards will be presented on Friday, February 26th, 2021.

Nominations open October 22, 2020 and close November 13, 2020.

Award Categories

A total of five (5) OHREA Awards are given in the areas of:

  • Accessibility
  • Employment Equity
  • Human Rights and Social Justice
  • Mental Health Champion
  • The OHREA Award

Essential Criteria and Eligibility:

Individuals or groups may be nominated for an award. The OHREA Awards Committee looks for demonstrated evidence and specific examples of contributions at the University of Windsor. The criteria used for the selection process will include, but are not limited to:

  • A demonstrated dedication to human rights, social justice, diversity, employment equity and accessibility
  • Contributions made to improve and promote human rights, social justice, diversity, employment equity, mental health and accessibility at the University
  • Fostering a culture of inclusivity at the University

All members of the University community are eligible to be nominated for the awards. This includes students, faculty, staff, retirees, alumni and volunteers. Persons outside of the University (who contribute to the advancement of human rights at the University) may also be nominated.
*Please note, you cannot nominate yourself.

Please click the following link for access to the OHREA Awards Nomination Survey

Should you have any questions, or require this information in an alternate format, please contact:


Photo of the 2019 OHREA Award recipients with Kaye Johnson


















The 2019 OHREA Award recipients with Kaye Johnson (from left to right) : James Gauld, Tricia Carmichael (both representing the LGBTQ+ in STEM Conference Committee), Vicky Paraschak, Kaye Johnson, Shirley Knight and Joyceln Lorito.