Faculty of Science Coordinating Council Minutes

Thursday, May 25, 2023 1:30-2:30 p.m. 122 Essex Hall

Attendance:

Dean's Office	Ρ	Dora Cavallo-Medved	Ρ	Arunita Jaekel	Ρ	Dan Mennill
Biomedical Sciences	Ρ	Andrew Hubberstey	Ρ	Martin Crozier	Α	Isabelle Hinch
Chemistry & Biochemistry	Ρ	James Gauld	Ρ	Drew Marquardt	Ρ	Angela Awada
Computer Science	Ρ	Imran Ahmad	Ρ	Pooya Moradian Zadeh	Ρ	Mohammed Ehsan Ur
						Rahman
Economics	Ρ	Sang-Chul Suh	Α	Yahong Zhang	А	David Henderson
Environment	Ρ	Alice Grgicak-	Ρ	Cameron Proctor	А	Pracithaa Vijayakumar
		Mannion				
Forensic Science	R	Maria Cioppa		N/A	А	Parisa Younesian
Institute Directors	R	Lisa Porter	R	Mike McKay	А	Roman Maev
Integrative Biology	Ρ	Isabelle Barrette-Ng	Ρ	Catherine Febria	А	Samuelle Simard-
						Provencal
Math & Stats	Ρ	Abdulkadir Hussein	Ρ	Abdo Alfakih	А	Kenneth Enninful
Physics	S	Jeff Rau	S	Dan Xiao	Α	Emma Blanchette
Non-voting	R	Anita Hu	Ρ	Laura McLean	R	Sharon Rasul
Non-voting	Ρ	Sara Elliott	Ρ	Gemma Grey-Hall	R	Bob Hodge
Non-voting	Α	Melissa Robinet	R	Shari Forbes		
Guest	Ρ	Patti Weir	Ρ	lva Gentcheva		
R=Regrets, S=Substitute, G=0	Sue	st			•	•

1. Welcome and approval of Agenda MOTION: To approve the agenda.

Gauld/Marquardt CARRIED

2. Approval of Minute from April 13, 2023

MOTION: To approve the minutes of April 13, 2023.

Grgicak-Mannion/Mennill CARRIED

3. Dean of Science Search Committee Composition

- The Dean search process is outlined in Senate Bylaw 10.
- Bylaw 10 (2.2.1.1) identifies that the search committee shall be composed of 3-6 regular faculty members/sessional lecturers, elected by and from the regular faculty members/sessional lecturers within the Faculty. This number is to be determined by members of the Faculty Coordinating Council.
- The student member(s) of the committee will be elected by and from the student representatives on Faculty Coordinating Council. The number of students will be determined by dividing the number of voting faculty on the committee by 3 and rounding to the nearest whole (6 faculty/2 students, 5 faculty/2 students, 4 faculty/1 student, 3 faculty/1 student).
- Discussed the possibility of adding staff, professional or community members to the committee. This will be determined by the elected committee (2.2.1.4).
- Faculty were encouraged to consider diversity when electing members of the search committee.

- Discussed the commitment of search committee members and the importance of keeping the search on schedule. Committee members must be present for all interviews and most of the search activities.
- Anticipating search committee start date of August 2023 with the goal of having a confirmed appointment by March 2024.
- The Provost's office will issue a Request for Proposals (RFP) for a search firm. The search firm will conduct a consultation process. The search committee will work with the firm to identify key stakeholders to include in the consultation process.
- With the approval of the President, Dr. Dora Cavallo-Medved's term as Interim Dean will be extended for one more year. If there is a need to extend this appointment beyond 2 years, it will require Faculty Coordinating Council approval.

MOTION: To appoint 6 faculty members to the Dean of Science search committee.

Mennill/Hussein CARRIED

4. Adjournment MOTION: To adjourn.

> Gauld/Marquardt CARRIED