Distinguished University Professor – Awarded

Senate Bylaw 20, 1.4.1: Distinguished* University Professors – A Distinguished University Professor is a member of the faculty of the rank of Professor who has distinguished achievements in teaching and wide national and/or international reputation for scholarship or creative or professional accomplishment.

Please Note: A title change from University Professor to Distinguished University Professor was approved at Senate on October 10, 2014 and applied retroactively.

2023

Dr. Ahmet Alpas, Mechanical, Automotive, and Materials Engineering

Dr. Jonathan Wu, Electrical and Computer Engineering

2022

Dr. Siyaram Pandey, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Lisa Porter, Biomedical Sciences

Dr. Christopher Tindale, Philosophy

2021

Dr. Daniel Heath, Integrative Biology (retired)

Dr. Ram Balachandar, Civil and Environmental Engineering

2020

Prof. Myra Tawfik, Law

2017

Prof. Richard Moon, Law

2016

Dr. Hoda El Maraghy, Mechanical, Automotive & Materials Engineering (retired)

2015

Prof. Jeffrey Berryman, Law

2014

Dr. Julie MacFarlane, Law (retired)

2013

Dr. Derek Northwood, Mechanical, Automotive & Materials Engineering (retired)

2009

Prof. William A. Bogart, Law (retired)

2007

Dr. Leslie Howsam, History (retired)

Dr. Alan S. Trenhaile, Earth & Environmental Sciences (retired)

2006

Dr. Roman Maev, Physics

2005

Dr. Francis Lemire, Mathematics & Statistics (retired)

Dr. Sudhir Paul, Mathematics & Statistics

Dr. Peter Sale, Biological Sciences (retired)

2004

Dr. William Baylis, Physics (retired)

Dr. Niharendu Biswas, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Dr. Stephen Loeb, Chemistry & Biochemistry

2003

Dr. Majid Ahmadi, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Dr. Thomas Dilworth, English Language, Literature & Creative Writing

Dr. Stewart Page, Psychology (retired)

2002

Prof. J. Anthony Blair, Philosophy (retired)

Dr. Douglas Stephan, Chemistry & Biochemistry (retired)

2001

Dr. Ricardo Aroca, Chemistry & Biochemistry (retired)

Dr. Eleanor Maticka-Tyndale, Sociology (retired)

2000

Dr. Barry Adam, Sociology (retired)

Prof. lain Baxter, Visual Arts (retired)

1998

Dr. Jatinder Bewtra, Civil & Environmental Engineering (retired)

Dr. David Symons, Earth Sciences (retired)

1997

Dr. Sheila Cameron, Nursing (retired)

Dr. Reuben Hackam, Electrical & Computer Engineering (retired)

1994

Dr. Charles Fantazzi, Classical & Modern Languages Literatures & Civilizations (retired)

Dr. Ralph Johnson, Philosophy (retired)

Dr. Alistair MacLeod, English Language, Literature & Creative Writing (retired)

Dr. Walter Soderlund, Political Science (retired)

1992

Dr. Lakshman Marasinghe, Law (retired)

1991

Dr. Anna Gupta, Nursing (retired)

1990

Dr. Graham Jullien, Electrical & Computer Engineering (retired)

1988

Dr. William McConkey, Physics (retired)

1987

Dr. John Kennedy, Civil & Environmental Engineering (retired)

Dr. Dennis Tuck, Chemistry & Biochemistry (retired)

1986

Dr. Gordon Drake, Physics (retired)

Dr. Byron Rourke, Psychology (retired)