SENATE UPDATE

Dr. Clinton Beckford

October 29, 2021



OUTLINE

- 1. External EDI Review
- 2. Quick Updates
- ABR Taskforce Report
- Racialized Data Collection: Student Identification Survey Phase 1
- 3. Black Scholars Hiring Initiative
- 4. SGC Sub-Committee on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Decolonization (EDID)

QUICK UPDATES

ABR Task Force

• Executive Summary and Final report being prepared

Racialized Data Collection: Student Self-Identification Survey Phase 1

• Phase One launched October 18, 2021

ABR Taskforce Report Roll Out

November 2021

- Executive Leadership Team.
- Relevant departments/units
- Media response protocol

December 2021

- Report to Senate, Board
- Public announcement

January 2022

• Formal University Response

EXIDERNAL EDIRECTES.

- The Steering Committee for the EDI Review Process had their inaugural meeting on Thursday, October 28th.
- Steering Committee roles:
- i. Determining the scope and criteria of the RFP process to be used by the RFP Evaluation Committee.
- **ii.** Providing advice on the goals and outcomes for the RFP process.
- iii. Ensuring the adherence to timelines set out for the External EDI review process.
- iv. Receiving the final report and recommendations provided by the Consultants.
- v. Prioritizing of the implementation of the recommendations of the External EDI review process.
- We anticipate that the public Request for Proposal will be out for tender next week with the hopes of being able to identify a successful Consultant to lead the EDI Review process by early January 2022.

EDI Review Steering Committee Membership

- Dr. Andrew Allen, Anti-Racism Pedagogies Teaching Leadership Chair and Faculty, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Reem Bahdi, Dean representative
- Dr. Clinton Beckford, Interim Vice-President, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (Chair)
- Dr. Mohsan Beg, Executive Director/Clinical Psychologist Student Health, Counselling, & Wellness Services
- Scott Cowan, Librarian, Leddy Library
- Kaitlyn Ellsworth, Executive Assistant to the Vice-President, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
- Dr. Eahab M.k. Elsaid, WUFA, Co-Chair Racial Justice Committee
- Dr. Vincent Georgie, Associate Vice-President, External

- Diane Luu-Hoang, Employment Equity Manager, OHREA
- Christine Quaglia, Special Needs Advisor and Technical Facilitator, Student Accessibility Services
- Yu Fei Qin UWSA representative
- Denice Shuker, Executive Director, Academic and Staff Relations (Interim), Human Resources
- Russell Nahdee, Coordinator, Aboriginal Education Centre
- Marium Tolson-Murtty, Strategic Planning Officer, Initiatives Against Anti-Black Racism
- Deena Wang, Manager, International Recruitment and Partnerships, Office of Enrolment Management - Recruitment
- (Resource to the Steering Committee: Daniella Beaulieu, Executive Director, Academic Initiatives)

BLACK SCHOLARS HIRING INITIATIVE

- In the process of finalizing the membership of the Working Group that will eventually be tasked with providing advice on the framework for the Black Scholars Hiring Initiative and considering any process-related matters pertaining to the implementation of the framework.
- After meeting with WUFA's Executive and the Co-Chairs of the Racial Justice Committee, WUFA will be identifying a representative to sit on the Working Group.
- A call for nominations was sent out October 28, 2021, that will help identify the four (4) Black Scholars from our campus community that will join the Working Group.
- The nomination process will close on Friday November 12, 2021, and we anticipate that the Working Group will have their first meeting soon after.

SGC Sub-Committee Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Decolonization

Rationale

- There are a number of initiatives and reviews underway that will result in recommendations relating to equity, diversity, inclusion, and decolonization/indigeneity. Some will require Senate deliberation and may have policy considerations.
- The Sub-Committee on EDID will consider and provide guidance on EDID issues that have Senate policy implications.

EDID Sub-Committee Membership

- Dr. Reem Bahdi
- Dr. Clinton Beckford (Chair)
- Jaimie Kechego
- Dr. Lana Parker
- Yu Fei Qin
- Dr. Bonnie Stewart