Lancers announce nominees for major varsity awards

The athletics department has released the list of nominees for major awards to be conferred Wednesday, April 6, at the annual Lancer Evening of Excellence banquet.

Up for the Banner Shield as female athlete of the year are basketball’s Cheyanne Roger, volleyball’s Lauren Stirling, and Stefanie Smith of the cross country and track teams.

Cross country and track athlete Corey Bellemore, basketball senior Alex Campbell and Matt Gayer of Lancer football are nominated for the Olympic Shield as male athlete of the year.

The DeMarco award honours those who best combine academics and athletics. Nominees on the women’s side are Shannon Dean from volleyball, Emily Prevost from basketball, and Laura Lecce from soccer. The male nominees are Shawn Reaume from volleyball, Milos Savic from volleyball and track and field, and Akbal Gill from soccer.

Find more information, including a complete list of those under consideration, in the full story: Department of Athletics announces major award nominees.