Arthur KiddDr. Arthur Kidd is among the UWindsor supporters to receive the Clark Award during an evening in their honour May 1.

Long-standing UWindsor supporters to receive recognition May 1

A Windsor physician and three long-time faculty members are the four outstanding University supporters who will be recognized with a 2014 Clark Award during an evening in their honour on Thursday, May 1, at 6:30 p.m. in the Ambassador Auditorium, CAW Student Centre.

Clark Awards have been presented annually since 1994 and are named in honour of the late Charles J. Clark, former chancellor of the University of Windsor. The award recognizes outstanding personal service of both alumni volunteers and friends of the University who have made significant commitments in time, energy and expertise by serving on boards, committees or campaigns, or who have worked extensively to increase its profile and reputation.

The 2014 recipients are:

Arthur D. F. Kidd

Endocrinologist Arthur Kidd has served as president of the Essex County Medical Society and chief of medicine at two city hospitals and chief of the medical staff at Hotel-Dieu Grace Hospital. Dr. Kidd was the specialist lead for the Diabetes Regional Coordination Centre for the Erie-St Clair LHIN and the initial chair of a Regional Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee that serves the Medical Advisory Committees for the three Essex County hospitals. He is now assistant director, learner equity and wellness, for the Windsor Program of the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry. He received the Frederick G. Banting Award for “tireless efforts to improve the quality of life of people living with diabetes.” Kidd was recently granted life membership in the Ontario Medical Association.

Philip H. Alexander (BASc 1963, MASc 1964)

Phil Alexander

Professor Phil Alexander began his career at UWindsor in 1964 and has served as head of electrical engineering, assistant to the dean of engineering, and associate dean. His teaching and research focused on electromagnetic fields, communications, and alternative futures. Alexander was a founding member of the North American Black Historical Museum and Cultural Centre and has served as its president. He was vice president of the Ontario Advisory Council on Multiculturalism and Citizenship. He has served on the boards of the Ontario Science Centre, the Canadian Engineering Accreditation, the local Big Brothers and YMCA, among many others. Alexander was named the 2014 Engineer of the Year by the Windsor-Essex Engineering Week Committee.

W. Sheila Cameron

Sheila Cameron

Professor emeritus Sheila Cameron joined UWindsor in 1976 in the School (now Faculty) of Nursing, serving as its director from 1986 to 1995 and as dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research from 1996 to 2005. In 1997, she became the University’s first-ever female University Professor. Dr. Cameron was director of the Ontario Mental Health Foundation; chair of the Ontario Region Canadian Association of University Schools of Nursing, and of the Council of Nurse Executives: Ontario. She was a director of the Metropolitan Hospital Board of Governors. A respected researcher, her focus included cancer care and recruitment and retention issues facing the Canadian nursing profession. She directed a CIDA-funded project between Windsor and Jordan nursing faculties from 1989 to 2002.

Kathleen E. McCrone

Kate McCrone

Kathleen McCrone became a faculty member at the University in 1968. She served as head of History, dean of the Faculty of Social Science, executive dean of the College of Arts and Human Sciences and of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, and acting provost and vice-president academic. She was director of the Humanities Research Group. Dr. McCrone taught the first course at UWindsor to focus on women and spearheaded the establishment of a Women’s Studies certificate program. The Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences and the Organization of Part-time University Students honoured her by creating teaching and academic achievement awards in her name. She has served as chair of the board of the Windsor Symphony.

Tickets for the May 1 dinner are priced at $75 each and available by contacting Mary-Ann Rennie by April 21 at or 519-973-7059.




Academic Area: