The University of Windsor is preparing for a safe return to campus. Learn More.


J. Anthony Blair Prize

for a graduate student essay/presentation deemed especially worthy of recognition

All the papers presented by graduate students at OSSA have gone through the same process as the other papers presented; they began as abstracts, not separately identified as proposals from students, and were anonymously refereed by the Programme Committee. This year the conference accepted more than a dozen papers by graduate students for the programme. Some of the students submitted their papers to the competition for the J. Anthony Blair Prize, an award sponsored by OSSA since 2001. The Blair Prize (a plaque, $1,000, and a publication in Informal Logic) is awarded to the graduate student whose paper was deemed especially worthy of recognition by the Blair Prize Committee. The announcement of the 2020 winner, and presentation of the award, will be made at the conference banquet, Saturday, June 6. It will be the ninth time the prize has been awarded. The Ontario Society for the Study of Argumentation is grateful to the Blair Prize Committee for 2020 for selecting this year's winner of the award.

The members of the Blair Prize Committee will be announced after the papers are submitted.

Past Winners of the Blair Prize

2016: Eugen Octav Popa (University of Amsterdam) Criticism without fundamental principles.
2013: Andrew Pineau (McMaster University) Toward a better understanding of fallacies on Toulmin's argument model.
2011: Paul Simard-Smith (University of Waterloo) and Andrei Moldovan (University of Salamanca) Arguments as abstract objects.
2009: Andrei Moldovan (University of Barcelona) Pragmatic considerations in the interpretation of denying the antecedent.
2007: Linda Carozza (York University) Dissent in the midst of emotional territory. (Co-recipient)
2007: Paula Olmos (Spanish National Distance University) Making it public: Testimony and socially sanctioned common grounds. (Co-recipient)
2005: Lilian Bermejo-Luque (University of Murcia) Toulmin's model of argument and the question of relativism.
2003: Amy Ohler (McMaster University) A dialectical tier within reason.
2001: Jan Albert van Laar (University of Groningen) Ambiguity in dialogue.