track and field teamsThe Lancers finished atop the men’s and women’s team standings in 2009, the fourth time for the program but the first time in league history for a host school.

Track stars win provincial honours

Ontario University Athletics has recognized Lancers Corey Bellemore and Angelo Bortolin among its major award winners in track and field.

Bellemore received the Hec Phillips Trophy as Overall Most Valuable Performer in men's track and field after winning two gold medals at the OUA championship meet with record-setting performances in the 600- and 800-metre races. He also took an individual bronze in the 1000m and ran on the silver-medal 4x400m relay team.

Bortolin won a bronze medal in triple jump at the OUA championships and heading into the national finals is ranked third in the country in that event and 11th in long jump. The OUA named him male rookie of the year. Read more at

Richard Johnston ends his “Throwback to Nationals” series with a recounting of the 2009 and 2010 CIS track and field championships.

2009  saw the host side take both the men’s and women’s team titles for the first time in league history. Male Athlete of the Meet Jamie Adjetey-Nelson won the pentathlon and added medals in long jump, high jump and the 4x200m relay to lead Windsor to a record 145.5 point total.

The women repeated as team champs in 2010, setting a record team point total of 114 on the strength of gold medals by Melissa Bishop in the 1000m, 600m and 4x800m relay; and four medals by Noelle Montcalm—gold in the 60m hurdles and 4x200m relay, silver in the 300m and bronze in the 60m.

The 2015 national championship tournament will run March 12 to 14 in the St. Denis Centre. Passes for the weekend are $25, with a student and senior rate of $20 and special $12 price for youth under 12 years old.