The University of Windsor is preparing for a safe return to campus. Learn More.

Nursing Scholarships

Detailed information is available from the Faculty of Nursing graduate awards webpage.

Dr. Sheila J. Cameron Graduate Award 

Established in 1996 by the Faculty of Nursing alumni to honour the contribution of Dr. Sheila J. Cameron to the development of graduate education.  Dr. Cameron was the Director of the School of Nursing from 1986-995.  One or more awards for full-time or part-time graduate students in Nursing who are in the first semester of the first year in their program.  Awarded on the basis of academic merit and leadership in Nursing. 
Value: $650.

Alumni Graduate Award

Established in 1996 by the Faculty of Nursing alumni, is awarded on the basis of scholarship and leadership to a full-time or part-time graduate student(s) in Nursing entering the final year of the program.
Value: $400.

Chadwell-Horsburgh Family Award for Graduate Students

Awarded annually to a part-time Master's student in Nursing who is a resident of Essex County. To be awarded on the basis of the applicant's academic merit and potential for scholarship. Established in 2000 to honour two families who have made long-standing contributions to the community of Windsor-Essex.
Value: $350.

Dr. Devamma Purushotham Neuroscience Bursary Award

To be awarded annually to a full-time or part-time graduate student in the Nursing program who specializes in Neuroscience. Neuroscience includes patient populations with diseases/disorders of the nervous system (e.g., multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, Huntington's disease, dementias, stroke, brain tumors, epilepsy), brain injuries (e.g., traumatic brain injuries, closed head injuries) and diabetes complications (e.g. neuropathy). The award was established in recognition of the outstanding dedicated services and support that Dr. Purushotham has provided as a volunteer to persons with brain injury and their families.
Value:  $950 (in the event of a tie the award may be divided).

Dr. Janet N. Rosenbaum Graduate Practicum Scholarship

Awarded annually to a full-time or part-time graduate student after completion of the first year of a graduate program in Nursing on the basis of academic record and demonstrated leadership.  Established in 1999 in honour of the contributions of Dr. Janet N. Rosenbaum to the School of Nursing..
Value:  $475.

Dr. M. L. Drake Conference Travel Award

Awarded to a nursing graduate student on the basis of academic merit who is presenting a paper or poster at a conference. The award is open to full- and part-time graduate students. It was established by Dr. M.L. Drake. Proof of conference attendance must be submitted with the application form. Recipients are strongly encouraged to also present their findings at their place of employment and/or the Nursing Research Forum. Preference will be given to projects that address dissemination of evidence-based practice or pathways to care to the knowledge users.
Value:  $700.

Yvette Miller Memorial Graduate Nursing Award

Awarded annually to a full-time or part-time graduate student in Nursing after successful completion of the first year of graduate studies on the basis of academic record and leadership.  Established in memory of Yvette Miller, a 1985 graduate of the BScN program. 
Value:  $1,000 (in the event of a tie the award may be divided).

Elizabeth H. Gillespie Memorial Scholarship

There are four awards available at the undergraduate or graduate level.
Awarded to graduate students in the Faculty of Nursing who have a specialized interest in community health nursing, advanced nursing practice and/or in the nurse practitioner role in Canada, or health-related scholarship or research. Must be a Canadian citizen or Permanent Resident, and show financial need.
Value: $5,000.

Madeline DeLuca LaCivita Scholarship in Oncology/Palliative Nursing

Awarded to a student in the Oncology/Palliative Care Graduate Diploma, on the basis of academic standing (minimum 77%). Preference may be given to a student with financial need. The scholarship may be renewable for a maximum of two years.
Value: $1,500.

Thesis/Dissertation Research Award

May be given to part-time or full-time graduate students after thesis/dissertation proposal presentations. Students must apply for the award by submitting an abstract, budget, and a request for funds. The amount granted will be determined by the Graduate Committee, based upon the funding needs for the study. This award has been created from funds granted by CIDA.
Value: up to $1,000.

Dr. Donna M. Foley Scholarship

Awarded to a full-time Collaborative Nursing Student in year 3 or $, or to a graduate Nursing student, based on scholarly activity relating to one or a combination of the following areas:  Spriituality in Nursing, Ethics, Research, Palliative Care.  Also based on academic excellence with an overall minimum cumulative average of 75% required in all Nursing courses.  If no full-time students are eligible, part-time students may be considered.
Value: up to $900.

Back to Scholarships and Awards Main Menu