UWindsor Together: Student Mental Health and Remote Learning Services

FAHSS Dean Search Committee

January 18, 2021

Dear colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr Cheryl Collier as Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (FAHSS) at the University of Windsor, effective July 1, 2021. 

Dr Collier is currently Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and Acting Associate Dean of Partnership Development and Interdisciplinary Studies in FAHSS. Her administrative experience includes serving as Undergraduate Chair of Political Science; Director and Co-Director of the Interdisciplinary Health Research Centre for the Study of Violence Against Women; Acting Department Head for Political Science in 2015 and again in 2017-18; and Acting Associate Vice-President, Academic for 14 months over 2018-19.

Dr Collier has been repeatedly recognized for her inspiring teaching at both Department and Faculty levels and her research has been supported by SSHRC Insight Development, Partnership Development, and Connections grants. Her work has been shortlisted for two national awards and her co-edited book The Politics of Ontario was recognized by the Hill Times as one of the top 100 books of 2017. She is also, as many of you will know from having heard her in the media, a frequent commentator on political topics. 

Please join me in welcoming Cheryl as she transitions into her new role. I will value her participation at the deans’ table, and I look forward to striding alongside her on the journey ahead.


Douglas Kneale, PhD
Provost and Vice-President, Academic


Search Committee Members: 
Dr. Douglas Kneale, Provost and Vice-President, Academic
Faculty members:
Dr. Bruce Kotowich (Arts)
Prof. Esther Van Eek (Arts)
Dr. Johanna Frank (Humanities)
Dr. Robert Nelson (Humanities)
Dr. Dennis Jackson (Social Sciences)
Dr. Anna Lanoszka (Social Sciences)
Student members:
Ms. Emily Fraser (Communication, Media and Film undergraduate student and FCC student member)
Mr. Alex-Andrei Ungurenasu (English and Creative Writing undergraduate student and FCC student member)
Equity Assessor:
Dr. Steven Rehse, Head of the Department of Physics
Committee Resource:
Ms. Iva Gentcheva, Senior Administrative Officer