WGS Award-winning Faculty

Urvashi Soni-Sinha

Congratulations to Dr. Urvashi Soni-Sinha, recipient of the 2021 Canadian Association of Work and Labour Studies Best Book Prize!

Entitled Closing the Employment Standards Enforcement Gap: Improving Protections for People in Precarious Jobs, the book is the product of a collaborative research initiative on employment standards and their enforcement in Ontario directed by Leah F. Vosko and funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Canada under its Partnership Grants Program.

Dr. Soni-Sinha received this award at the annual general meeting of the Canadian Association of Work and Labour Studies via Zoom on June 3, 2021.

Read more in the University of Windsor's Daily News at https://www.uwindsor.ca/dailynews/2021-06-07/research-work-recognized-best-book-labour-studies


Anne Forrest

Congratulations to Dr. Anne Forrest, recipient of the 2019 University of Windsor Educational Leadership Award!

This award was established in 2019 to honour and recognize the contributions of individuals who have led significant and sustained initiatives to improve teaching, curriculum, teaching spaces and resources, and policies and procedures that promote effective teach.

Dr. Forrest received this award at the University of Windsor's 14th Annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence on November 20, 2019.

Christopher Greig

Congratulations to Dr. Christopher J. Greig, recipient of the 2019 Alumni Award for Distinguished Contributions to University Teaching!

This award was established in 1987 to honour and recognize exemplary teaching on campus and to provide incentive and encouragement for achieving excellence in this field.

Dr. Greig received this award at the University of Windsor's Spring Convocation on Friday, May 31, 2019 at 10:00am convocation.

Cara Fabre

Congratulations to Dr. Cara Fabre, recipient of the 2017-18 Dr. Kathleen E. McCrone Teaching Award for the Faculty of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences!

This award recognizes teaching performance, availability and help provided to students outside the classroom, and the introduction and successful application of innovative teaching methods.

Dr. Fabre received this award at the University of Windsor's Faculty of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Year End Celebration on December 6, 2018.

Charlene Senn

Congratulations to Dr. Charlene Y. Senn, appointed Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Sexual Violence on October 1, 2017.

The Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP) stands at the centre of a national strategy to make Canada one of the world's top countries in research and development. It invests approximately $265 million per year to attract and retain a diverse cadre of world-class researchers, to reinforce academic research and training excellence in Canadian postsecondary institutions.

In 2000, the Government of Canada created a permanent program to establish 2,000 research professorships—Canada Research Chairs—in eligible degree-granting institutions across the country.

Chairholders aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences. They improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching, and the coordination of other researchers' work.

Betty Barrett

Congratulations to Dr. Betty Barrett, recipient of the 2016 Mid-Career Scholars/Researchers Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity!

Awards in the mid-career category are valued at $3,000 and are conferred annually to faculty and librarians who are between the sixth and twelfth (6-12) year of their career. This award recognizes recently-established research, scholarly, and creative programs and practice that are opening up new fields or insights of inquiry.

Dr. Barrett received this award at the University of Windsor's Celebration of Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity on March 8, 2017.