Sandra Pupatello accepts the Alumni Award of MeritSandra Pupatello (BA 1986, LLD 2012) accepts the Alumni Award of Merit during Thursday’s meeting of the University of Windsor Alumni Association.

Alumni Association honours grads at awards reception

A performance by classical pianist Derek Chiu (BMT 2001), one of seven recent graduates to receive an Odyssey Award for professional achievement, was a highlight of the Alumni Association’s annual general meeting, Thursday, November 21.

In addition to Chiu, who directs his own music studio, early-career awards went to software developer Ali Al-Aasm (BCS 2003), psychologist Lori Gray (MA 2004, PhD 2008), triathlon coach James Loaring (BComm 2002), research engineer Aaron Mavrinac (BASc 2005, MASc 2008, PhD 2012), WEtech Alliance vice-president Yvonne Pilon (BComm 2007), and forensic accountant Deepti Verma (BComm 2003).

Professors Alan Metcalfe from the Faculty of Human Kinetics and Professor Brian Rintoul from the School of Dramatic Art received the Excellence in Mentoring Award, and Sandra Pupatello (BA 1986, LLD 2012), CEO of the WindsorEssex Development Corporation and former Windsor West MPP, received the association’s highest honour, the Alumni Award of Merit.