The University of Windsor has moved to an “essential service only” model. Learn More.
Honorees at the 2017 OPUS Awards Banquet.Honorees at the 2017 OPUS Awards Banquet.

Part-time students to honour faculty, staff, and students at awards banquet

The Organization of Part-time University Students (OPUS) will host its 26th annual awards banquet on Friday, March 23, at the Caboto Club.

The event recognizes University of Windsor faculty, staff, alumni and part-time undergraduate students for exceptional contributions to campus life. The organization is distributing invitations; the RSVP date is Monday, March 12, at 519-971-3603 or e-mail

This year’s awards include:

  • OPUS Lifetime Achievement Award: Maryan Amalow, OPUS executive director;
  • OPUS Friend of Students Award: Michael Khan, dean of the Faculty of Human Kinetics;
  • Teacher of the Year Award: Pardeep Jasra, Faculty of Science;
  • OPUS Faculty Award: Antoine Khoury, languages, literatures, and cultures;
  • OPUS Support Staff Awards: Sherry Ketterer, alumni affairs; Mark Lafleur, Food Services; Karen Pillon, Leddy Library;
  • OPUS Staff/Faculty Leadership Award: Marian Doll, director of Student Awards and Financial Aid;
  • Disability Campus Community Recognition Award: Kaye Johnson, director of Office of Human Rights, Equity, and Accessibility;
  • Volunteer of the Year Award: Josephine Sawyerr;
  • Student Solidarity Award: Rajiv Sivanesan;
  • Alumni Association Academic Achievement Award: Amy Osman;
  • Alumni Association First Year Part-time Undergraduate Student Award: Donna Patterson;
  • Student with Disability Achievement Award: Michael Livingstone;
  • Dr. Kathleen McCrone Award: Adam Dagenais;
  • Ken Long Memorial Award: Jonathan Goncalo;
  • VEK Ternoey Academic Second Chance Award: Ilija Stojanovic.

In addition, 21 part-time undergraduate students received bursaries and scholarships based on financial need. Find additional details on the event website.