Law students standing behind Steve Coroza, Michael Tulloch, Sheilah Martin, and Renee Pomerance.Law students in the Zuber Moot Competition had their efforts in the final round judged by justices (seated from left) Steve Coroza, Michael Tulloch, Sheilah Martin, and Renee Pomerance.

Windsor Law hosts the 50th Zuber Moot with esteemed judges

Windsor Law hosted its 50th Annual Zuber Moot Competition Final Round on November 21st, 2023. For the first time in Windsor Law history, we welcomed a Supreme Court of Canada judge, the Honourable Justice Sheilah Martin, two Court of Appeal for Ontario judges, the Honourable Chief Justice Michael Tulloch and the Honourable Justice Steve Coroza, and one Superior Court of Ontario Judge, the Honourable Justice Renee Pomerance, to preside as the Final Round Bench.

An opening highlight in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Zuber Moot was a video fireside interview with Zuber Moot founder the Honourable Justice Thomas Zuber.

In mooting, student teams are presented with a legal issue which they must argue in front of a “judge” or panel of “judges.” This year, 84 students competed in the preliminary rounds for a coveted spot as one of the four finalists chosen to go forward to the Zuber Moot Final Round.

Preliminary round awards went to Joyce Dayson and Andre Nguyen for best factum, and Taylor Brand and Gabrielle Bayne for honourable mention oralists.

This year’s finalists are Meganne MacFarlane and Kate Hunter who represented the appellants and Jared Colthurst and Christina Sutrov who advocated for the respondent in the appeal of R v Tessier, 2022 SCC 35 at the Supreme Moot Court of Windsor.

The bench reserved its decision and Jared Colthurst and Kate Hunter were named top oralists.

Special thanks to the 2023 Zuber Moot Committee members Abbey James, Andrew Boyes, Neil La Marca, Tish Lewis, and Quinn Finlay, the Honourable Justices and Zuber & Company LLP who kindly sponsored a light reception at the law school following the moot.

Academic Area: