Payroll team Christine Boakes, Jessica Higgins, Carmen Olteanu, Kellie HansarukThe annual Employe Recognition Awards ceremony is set for March 6. The payroll team won a service excellence award last year. Standing from left: Christine Boakes, Jessica Higgins, Carmen Olteanu; seated Kellie Hansaruk.

Gathering to celebrate Employee Recognition Award recipients

The Department of Human Resources invites the campus community to the annual Employee Recognition Awards ceremony March 6 from 3 to 4:30 p.m. in the Alumni Auditorium, CAW Student Centre.

These awards reinforce the importance of service, innovation, teamwork, leadership, engagement, and celebrate the outstanding contributions of individuals and teams to the University of Windsor.

At this event, Employee Recognition Awards will be presented to the following individuals and teams:

Impact Award – Community Engagement

  • Atinuke Adeyemi, sessional instructor, Faculty of Education
  • Yvonne Zimmerman, secretary - special events, Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Andrew Allen, associate professor, Faculty of Education

Impact Award – Innovation

  • Renu Sharma-Persaud, sessional lecturer, Sociology and Criminology

Impact Award – Innovation

  • Sarah Baker, School of the Environment
  • Sandy Marra, treasury accountant, Financial Accounting and Reporting
  • Facility Services Team (members: Danny Castellan, manager - projects and construction; Rob Fontanini, chief operating engineer, heating and cooling – Energy Conversion Centre; Colin McLellan, associate director - capital projects; John Regier, director - facility operations)

Inclusive Excellence Award

  • Fei Qin, Lancer Recreation Services

Leadership Award

  • Kristen Morris, director, Co-operative Education & Workplace Partnerships

Service Excellence Award – All Service Interactions

Service Excellence Award – Student Services

  • Joyceln Lorito, student development specialist - learning strategist, Student Accessibility Services

Laura McLean, a member of the employee recognition committee and secretary to the dean of science, says she has enjoyed participating in the process.

“It’s inspiring to see how people across campus are contributing in meaningful ways,” she says. “This program is a great opportunity to build a positive work environment.”

To attend the March 6 celebration, RSVP by Friday, Feb. 23, online at or by e-mail to