Anna Lanoszka, Barbara Thomas, Tricia Carmichael, Rajesh SethHonouring champions of equity: WUFA president Anna Lanoszka and vice-president of the Status of Women, Diversity and Equity Action Rajesh Seth flank Mary Lou Dietz Equity Leadership Award recipients Barbara Thomas and Tricia Carmichael.

Faculty association honours champions of equity and diversity

Friends and colleagues came together on Wednesday, May 10, to honour Tricia Carmichael and Barbara Thomas, the 2023 recipients of the Mary Lou Dietz Equity Leadership Award.

The award was established by the Windsor University Faculty Association’s Status of Women, Diversity and Equity Action Committee in memory of Mary Lou Dietz — a late UWindsor faculty member and former head of the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminology. It honours members who demonstrate the spirit of leadership through their contributions to creating an equity culture on campus.

Dr. Carmichael, professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, was nominated by Lisa Porter. Their colleague Simon Rondeau-Gagne spoke of Carmichael’s outstanding achievements in pursuing and promoting equity, and advocacy and support for mental health in the workplace.

Dr. Thomas, professor emeritus in the Faculty of Nursing, was nominated by Kathleen McCrone on behalf of the Windsor University Retirees’ Association. Dr. McCrone spoke to Thomas’s many contributions to equity and diversity throughout her academic career.

The reception at Freed-Orman was an opportunity to celebrate Carmichael and Thomas as advocates and leaders for equity. Adding to the special occasion was the presence of members of Dietz’s family: her daughters Evanne Dietz and Niki Lorenz, son Leif Lorenz and his spouse Patti Lorenz.