Future Scholars Program

The Future Scholars Program is a program that was started to highlight and support the next generation of scientists and social scientists whose research supports strategic initiatives for the Faculty of Science.

Dr. Laura Chittle 


Throughout Dr. Chittle's postdoctoral fellowship, she was responsible for providing support and consultation on curriculum development, refinement, mapping, and learning outcomes. This included consulting on, and facilitating the development of, program development forms for undergraduate and graduate degree programs, certificates, degree completion pathways, and courses. She also led and collaborated on, several research projects focusing on curriculum development and evaluation, student-faculty partnerships, the Impostor Phenomenon in higher education, and understanding persistence and retention in Science students. During her postdoctoral fellowship, Dr. Chittle was co-supervised by Dr. Chris Houser (Dean of Science) and Erika Kustra (Centre for Teaching and Learning).

Dr. Chittle is currently employed as a Learning Specialist in Educational Development in the Centre for Teaching and Learning at the University of Windsor. Her general responsibilities include teaching courses, workshops, and retreats, providing pedagogical service, and engaging in research with a curriculum focus.


Dr. Michael Godfrey 


Dr. Godfrey is currently an SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellow who conducts research to advance equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) in STEM disciplines. Specifically, his projects aim to improve the academic climate for students who belong to the LGBTQ2S+ community and better understand how diversity affects the persistence of Black, Indigenous, and People of Colour (BIPOC) students. Dr. Godfrey also works closely with the Faculty of Science EDI Taskforce to provide educational opportunities and resources for students, staff, and faculty.