Faculty, staff and board members among Diamond Jubilee honourees

A significant number of University of Windsor staffers, faculty members and both past and present members of the board have been awarded for their contributions to country in conjunction with the sixtieth anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne.

The following people have received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal:

Barry Adam has been a sociology professor for nearly four decades has been a leading researcher in the area of HIV/AIDS.  He is a founding member of the Windsor AIDS Committee and has contributed on $10 million dollars of HIV funded research across Ontario and Canada.

Iain Baxter& is a professor emeritus and conceptual artist and is recognized internationally as an early practitioner of conceptual art. He won the Canada Council Molson Prize in 2005. Iain is a member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts and is an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Jane Boyd is the executive assistant to the president. A founding member of The Hospice of Windsor and Essex County, and the chair of the board of United Way of Windsor & Essex County, she was chief of staff in the mayor’s office from 1990 – 2003. 

Jim Brophy is an adjunct professor, worker’s health advocate, a co-author, and one of the lead researchers on a study that identifies five occupational sectors where women have an elevated risk for breast cancer. He has fought to establish and publicize the links between disease and workplace exposure, in particular the relationship between breast cancer and occupational and environmental exposure.

Dave Cooke is past chair, board of governors and served as MPP for Windsor-Riverside from 1977 until 1997.  During his political career he served in many capacities both in opposition and as a senior cabinet minister.  Dave has served as chair of the LHIN, and as honourary chair of the Alzheimer Society.

Carol Derbyshire is past chair, board of governors and executive director of The Hospice of Windsor and Essex County.  She has served as chair of the board, Hotel-Dieu Grace Hospital; chair of the board, Windsor Regional Hospital; and chair of the board, New Canadian Centre of Excellence.

Dennis Fairall is the head coach Windsor Lancer’s track and field team.  In 2012 he was inducted to the Windsor-Essex County Sports Hall of Fame, and is the most decorated head coach in Canadian university athletics. He has been a coaching staff member for the 1995, 1996 and 1997 World University Games. 

Marty Gervais is an accomplished writer, novelist, poet and publisher, and a retired award-winning journalist.  He is currently the university’s resident writing professional, and the poet-laureate for the City of Windsor.  Much of his writing is dedicated to celebrating our local stories in order to leave a lasting vision of our community through time.

Martin Girash is past chair, board of governors and former president and CEO, Windsor Regional Hospital. As a psychologist, Dr. Girash has dedicated his time to children’s issues in our community.

Jennifer Jones is current chair of the board of governors, and the owner and president of Media Street Productions.  She is the past chair of the board of the Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce, a member of the Rotary Club of Windsor-Roseland, and is a past district governor of Rotary District 6400 (Michigan/Ontario). 

Margaret Keith is an adjunct sociology professor, a community health advocate, a co-author, and one of the lead researchers on a study that identifies five occupational sectors where women have an elevated risk for breast cancer. For the past 30 years she has focused on a wide range of public health and social justice issues, and a central focus of her advocacy work has been the elimination of asbestos exposure and associated disease.

Lenore Langs is an instructor in the Department of English Language, Literature and Creatrive Writing. A recipient of Windsor’s Mayor's Award for Literary Excellence and the Arts Leadership Award for Literary Arts presented by the Windsor Endowment for the Arts, she has served 10 years as chair of the BookFest Windsor literary festival, and is co-publisher of Cranberry Tree Press.

Donald R. Leslie is a professor emeritus at the school of social work. He was commended for his contributions through research, scholarship and service to persons with disabilities. Besides helping found the disability studies program, he played an instrumental role in advancing accommodation for the university community through co-chairing the accessibility planning committee. He played an active role in orienting faculty, staff, and students on matters related to workplace accommodation, disability, and diversity.

Alistair MacLeod is professor emeritus and a noted Canadian author. Among other awards, he has won the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award for his 1999 novel No Great Mischief.  In 2008, he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in recognition of his commitment to Canadian literature and influence on other Canadian authors.

George McMahon is a professor emeritus in history. He is a graduate of Assumption College, who joined the university’s faculty on its founding in 1963. He served the university in a number of senior administrative positions and retired in 1996 as assistant vice-president for alumni affairs. He recently authored the second volume in his history of Assumption University, entitled Rev. E.C. LeBel C.S.B. and the Creation of the University of Windsor. He received the medal in recognition for his work as the President of the Air Force Association from 1994-1996 and for his 60+ years of involvement with the Royal Canadian Air Cadet program.

Marion Overholt is the director of Legal Assistance of Windsor. She has dedicated most of her career to assisting those less fortunate, and is involved with many organizations that promote social change.  She has spent her life fighting for social justice and helping to improve the lives of thousands of Windsorites.

Howard Pawley, associate professor emeritus, was the 18th Premier of Manitoba from 1981 to 1988.  In 2000, he was awarded the Order of Manitoba and in 2001 he was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.  After he retired from politics, he became a professor at the University of Windsor, and was also the Paul Martin Professor. 

Fouad Tayfour is a member of the board of governors. As the medical director of The Windsor Laser Eye Institute, he is a leader in vision correction and has performed more than 60,000 LASIK procedures on patients in the Windsor and Detroit area.

Audrey Thibert is a past member, board of governors, and current board committee member who has been actively involved in education, especially at the University of Windsor. She was the first female president of the University of Windsor Alumni Association.  Dr. Thibert mentors students and continues volunteering on various committees and boards. 

Chantal Vallee is the head coach of the three-time defending CIS Champion women’s basketball team.  She also does outreach to the local schools inspiring young people and future leaders across our region.  She is a positive, inspirational mentor to many, and emphasizes on pushing individuals beyond their limits to achieve their success.

Alan Wildeman became the sixth president and vice-chancellor of the University of Windsor in July 2008, a position he will hold until 2020.  Prior to coming to Windsor, he was the vice-president, research at the University of Guelph and served on the advisory boards of many provincial and national research organizations.