Alan Wildeman congratulates Russell NahdeeUWindsor president Alan Wildeman congratulates Russell Nahdee on his “U” Make a Difference Award.

Reception honours contributions of excellent employees

Being nominated for an award for her service to students, faculty and staff came as a surprise to Arpa Smith, but winning was “over the top.”

Team leader in client services for Information Technology Services, she received the Individual Service Excellence Award at the Employee Recognition Awards reception, Wednesday in the CAW Student Centre.

“I am quite overwhelmed,” Smith said. “It’s always nice to be recognized by your peers.”

The awards program celebrates contributions of employees to the achievement of the University’s mission. President Alan Wildeman referred to the reception as the start of the University’s “Academy Awards season.”

Other award winners honoured Wednesday include:

  • Carrie Carr , James Gauld, Svetlana Georgieva, Debbie Kane, Erica Lyons Christine Maitre, Angie Penev, Alison Samson, Nancy Steeves, Lisa Timperio and Barbara Zimmerman of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Office of Quality Assurance, Team Service Excellence Award;
  • Dana Wiley, undergraduate secretary in the Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminology, Service Excellence Award (first five years of employment);
  • Jessica Raffoul, teaching and learning research and communications coordinator in the Centre for Teaching and Learning, Excellence in Leadership Award;
  • Michelle Freeman, associate professor and graduate coordinator in the Faculty of Nursing, Impact Award;
  • Russell Nahdee, coordinator of the Aboriginal Education Centre, “U” Make a Difference Award;
  • Trevor Pittman, concert producer and operations manager in the School of Creative Arts, Excellence in Health and Safety Award.

Rita LaCivita, vice-president, human resources, pointed to the award winners as indicative of a culture of service.

“What a wonderful group of individuals we have, making this place outstanding,” she said.