University of Windsor's Stephen Loeb, David Tanovich and Jennifer Willet were honoured by the Royal Society of Canada.University of Windsor's Stephen Loeb, David Tanovich and Jennifer Willet were honoured by the Royal Society of Canada.

Three UWindsor professors named to Royal Society of Canada

Three University of Windsor professors have received some of Canada’s highest academic honours.

David Tanovich from the Faculty of Law and Stephen Loeb from the Faculty of Science were announced as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada on Thursday.

Jennifer Willet, a visual artist with the University of Windsor’s School of Creative Arts, was announced Tuesday, September 12, as a member of the College of New Scholars, Artists, and Scientists.

“I am absolutely delighted that our colleagues are being recognized by the Royal Society of Canada,” said K.W. Michael Siu, UWindsor vice-president, research and innovation. “For established scholars, induction as a Fellow, and for emerging scholars, College membership, are among the most prestigious accolades bestowed on academics in Canada.

“The Royal Society’s recognition is a testament to the stellar creative and scholarly contributions of these three honourees to their disciplines.”

Fellows of the Royal Scoiety are nominated by their peers for making remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities, the sciences and in Canadian public life. They are considered to be the best in their field.

Members of the college are honored for demonstrating a high level of achievement at an early stage in their career.

Professor Tanovich has long been celebrated for advancing the understanding of systemic bias and, in particular, anti-Black racism in Canadian criminal law. His pioneering book, The Colour of Justice: Policing Race in Canada, was the first in Canada to document the contexts within which racial profiling has occurred in policing. It remains after 10 years the most relevant legal authority written on the subject.

Dr. Loeb is a world leader in the design of molecular machines and supramolecular chemistry. His team has developed a wide variety of methodologies for the preparation of mechanically interlocked molecules. These molecular machines can be created by synthetically interlocking molecules together which allows the molecular components to move about independently of each other.

Dr. Willet is a celebrated artist, researcher, and curator in the international art and science community. She is considered to be an innovator in the field of bioart, merging artistic and biotechnical research, towards research and creation that uses living media like cells, plants, and microbes in the production of art. Her laboratory, INCUBATOR Hybridge Laboratory at the intersection of Art, Science, and Ecology, opened in 2009 as the first dedicated bioart laboratory in Canada.

Loeb, Tanovich, and Willet will be inducted to the Fellowship and College of the RSC during the RSC Celebration of Excellence 2017 from November 23 to 26.

The three newest inductees bring the University of Windsor’s representation in the Royal Society of Canada to 12 Fellows and four members of the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. Other RSC Fellows from the University of Windsor include Iain Baxter&, Willian Conklin, Thomas Dilworth, Gordon Drake, Brian Fryer, Leslie Howsam, Ralph Johnson, John McConkey, Derek Northwood, and Michael Siu. College members include Reem Bahdi, Sally Bick, and Lisa Porter.