Faculty and Staff


FACULTY

Dr. Linda Patrick Dr. Linda Patrick, RN, BScN, MA, MSc, PhD
 Dean and Associate Professor
 Research Focus:
  • Maternal/Child,
  • Prevention of type 2 diabetes in women with previous gestational diabetes,
  • Chronic disease management and improving health outcomes for women at risk for Type 2 diabetes after gestational diabetes,
  • Pre-conceptual health promotion,
  • Transition to professional practice issues

Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2259 (Joy Lesperance, Dean's Secretary)
lpatric@uwindsor.ca

 

Dr. Susan Fox, RN, BN, MScN, PhD
Associate Dean and Associate Professor
Research Focus:
  • Healthcare associated infections and infectious diseases
  • Cardiovascular health

Room 300 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2284
sfox@uwindsor.ca

 

Boamah photo

Dr. Sheila Boamah, RN, BScN, MN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:

  • Leadership and patient safety
  • Health services needs of vulnerable older adults in long-term care
  • Quality of work life of care providers

Room 328 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2264
sboamah@uwindsor.ca

 

Prof. Judy Bornais

Prof. Judy Bornais, RN, BA, BScN, MSc, CDE
On leave to be Acting Executive Director, Office of Experiential Learning - July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2022
Academic Ancillary Staff III - Experiential Learning Specialist
Teaching Leadership Chair
Research Focus:

  • Diabetes care,
  • simulation in health care education, and
  • inter-professional health care

519.253.3000, x2269
jbornais@uwindsor.ca

 

Dr. Jamie Crawley
Dr. Jamie Crawley,  RN, BScN, BA (Psychology), BA (Sociology), MBA, PhD
Associate Professor
On Leave
 Research Focus:
  • Poverty and health disparities, 
  • chronic illness and
  • teen sibling health

 Room 319 Toldo HEC
 519.253.3000, x4816
 jcrawley@uwindsor.ca

 

Ecruzphoto

Dr. Edward Cruz, RN, CCNE, DMD, BScN, BN, MEdM, MScN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:

  • Nursing Education
  • Internationally Educated Nurses
  • Human Resources for Health
  • Immigrant Health
  • Interprofessional Education and Collaboration

Room  322 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2263
Edward.Cruz@uwindsor.ca

Dayusphoto Dr. Deborah Dayus, RN, BScN, BA, MSc, PhD
Academic Ancillary Staff III - Clinical Practice Learning Specialist: Years 1 & 3 Clinical
Research Focus:
  • Women's health,
  • Maternal/child health (infertility; emotional health)
  • Community health
  • Incivility in Nursing Education

Room 320 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x3770
dayus@uwindsor.ca

 

SDennisonphoto

Prof. Susan Dennison, RN, BScN, MScN, CPPS
Academic Ancillary Staff II - Clinical Practice Learning Specialist: Years 2 & 4 Clinical
Research Focus:

  • Patient Safety
  • Clinical Education
  • Peer Mentoring

Room 308 Toldo HEC
519.253-3000, x4390
dennison@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Lorna DeWitt

 

 

Dr. Lorna de Witt, PhD, RN
Associate Professor & Graduate Coordinator for Student Academic Affairs
Research Focus:

  • Relational care of persons with dementia and their families
  • LTC home compliance with LTC legislation
  • Medication safety in LTC homes
  • Diversity and aging

Room 302 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2286
ladewitt@uwindsor.ca

 

Dr. Kathryn Edmunds, RN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:

  • Migration and health of temporary foreign workers
  • Culture, diversity and cultural safety
  • Community health

Room 318 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4383
kedmunds@uwindsor.ca

 

Prof. Michelle Freeman

Dr. Michelle Freeman, RN, BScN, BA, MScN, PhD, CPPS
On leave
Associate Professor
Research Focus:

  • Health Services (health human resources, nurse migration, leadership, followership)
  • Health Outcomes (science of patient safety, quality improvement)
Room 304 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4812
mfreeman@uwindsor.ca
 
 
Prof. Laurie Freeman-Gibb

Dr. Laurie Freeman, RN, BScN, MSN, PhD
Associate Professor and PHCNP Graduate Coordinator
Research Focus:

  • Breast cancer (survivorship issues and decision making), and 
  • technology and teaching

Room 303 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2278
lfreeman@uwindsor.ca

 

Prof. N. Giannotti photo

Dr. Natalie Giannotti, RN, BHK, MN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:

  • Gestational diabetes, diabetes prevention, health promotion

Room 316 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4988
natalieg@uwindsor.ca

 

Dr. Debbie Kane

Dr. Debbie Kane, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD
Associate Professor, and Associate Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies
Research Focus:

  • Women's health, workplace
  • wellness, and public health
Room 301 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2268
dkane@uwindsor.ca
 
Heather Krohn photo

Dr. Heather Krohn, RN, BScN, MEd, PhD
Assistant Professor

Research Focus:

  • Community and global health,
  • Cross-cultural healthcare

Room 326 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2275
hkrohn@uwindsor.ca

 

amcewenphoto

Prof. Amanda McEwen, RN, BSc (Honours Bio.), BScN, MScN
Academic Ancillary Staff - Experiential Learning Specialist

Research Focus:

  • Hand hygiene adherence and healthcare associated infections
  • Effect moderation/interaction effects (research methodology)

Room 3126 Medical Education Building
519.253.3000, x2248
amcewen@uwindsor.ca

 

   

Prof. Sherry Morrell, RN(EC), BScN, Primary Health Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate, MN, MCISc (Wound Healing), PhD(c)
Lecturer and NP Program Administrator

Research Focus:
  • Nurse Practitioner
  • Nursing Education
  • Wound care

Room 306 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4389
morrells@uwindsor.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Prof. Leanne Paquette, RN, BScN, MN, PhD (Student)
Lecturer 
Research Focus:

  • Incivility

Room 317 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2266
lpaquett@uwindsor.ca

 

    Prof. Kathy Pfaff

Dr. Kathy Pfaff, RN, BScN, MSc, PhD
Associate Professor
Research Focus:

  • Interprofessional Collaboration,
  • New Graduate Nurse Transition, 
  • Rural Community Health Care,
  • health care systems,
  • palliative care

Room 312 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4977
kpfaff@uwindsor.ca

 

     Gina Pittman photo

Prof. Gina Pittman, RN(EC), BScN, MN-NP, PhD (student)
Lecturer

Research Focus:

  • NP prescribing
  • NP practice

Room 324 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4384
Gina.Pittman@uwindsor.ca

     Dr. Jody Ralph photo

Dr. Jody Ralph, RN, BSc, BScN, MSc, PhD
Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator - Graduate Student & Faculty Research
Great Lakes Biennial Nursing Conference (GLBNC) Chair

Research Focus:

  • Oncology

Room 314 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2271
Jody.Ralph@uwindsor.ca

 

   Prof. Debbie Rickeard

 Dr. Debbie Rickeard, RN, BScN, BA, MScN, DNP, CCRN(c), CCN(c)
 Academic Ancillary Staff - Experiential Learning Specialist

 Room 3124 Medical Education Building
 519.253.3000, x4993
 rickeard@uwindsor.ca

 

PROFESSORS EMERITAE/RETIRED:

Dr. Laurie Carty, RN, BScN, BA, MEd, PhD, carty@uwindsor.ca
Research focus: Mental health - individual and group counselling

Dr. Mary Louise Drake, mld@uwindsor.ca - Associate Professor Emerita
Chairperson, Building Blocks for Better Babies

Dr. Cheri Hernandez, RN, BScN, BA, MEd, PhD (Education), PhD (Nursing), cherih@uwindsor.ca
Research focus: Theory of integration & interventions in diabetes, grounded theory research, and instrument/scale development

Prof. Patricia McKay, RN, BScN, MSc - pmckay@uwindsor.ca 

Dr. Sharon McMahon, mcmaho3@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Values clarification and moral decision-making, animal-assisted therapy and bereavement, and nursing history and the arts

Dr. Devamma Purushotham

Dr. Dale Rajacich, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD, rajacic@uwindsor.ca
Research focus: breast cancer and international collaboration

Dr. Janet N. Rosenbaum, Director of the School of Nursing, 1981-1986

Dr. Barbara Thomas, Associate Vice President Academic, University of Windsor, 1991-1996, thomas9@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Christine Thrasher,  RN, BScN, BA, MScN, Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate, PhD, Associate Professor,  thrash4@uwindsor.ca

Research Focus:Interprofessional education & practice,knowledge translation, and infection control

Dr. Karen Williamson, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD, karenw@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Cardiovascular nursing and intervention research

Prof. Lucia Yiu (Matuk), BSc, BScN, BA, MScN, lyiu@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Health promotion, breast health, multiculturalism


SESSIONAL LECTURERS

Prof. Mary Chick, RN, BScN, MSc
Sessional Lecturer
Room 313 HEC
519.253.3000, x2287
mchick@uwindsor.ca

Prof. Mary Cole, RN, DPHN, BA, BScN, MSc
Sessional Lecturer
Room 310 HEC
519.253.3000, x2283
cole9@uwindsor.ca

Prof. Antoinette Dimitroff, RN, BScN
Sessional Lecturer
Room 315 HEC
519.253.3000, x4380
dimitrof@uwindsor.ca

Prof. Brenda McLaughlin, RN, BScN, BA (Psychology), MN
Sessional Lecturer
Room 315 HEC
519.253.3000, x4387
bmcla@uwindsor.ca
 


STAFF

Ms Natalie Bownes
Clinical Coordinator
Room 201D Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4814
nbownes@uwindsor.ca

Mr. Brett Colman
IT Support Technician
Room 201G Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4382
Brett.Colman@uwindsor.ca

Ms Anne Dennahower
Nursing Programs & Student Support (Graduate) Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2260
adenna@uwindsor.ca

Ms Rosalba Iannicello
Receptionist/Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2265
rosalbai@uwindsor.ca

Ms Joy Lesperance
Dean's Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2259
joyl@uwindsor.ca

Ms Fran Meloche, RN, MScN
Student Success Coordinator
Room 201B Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2274
fmeloche@uwindsor.ca

Ms Shannon Mercer (August to June annually)
Nursing Clinical Therapist
Room 201A Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4388
Shannon.Mercer@uwindsor.ca

Shannon Mercer's office hours:
August to June annually: Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Appointments with Shannon are made by contacting Student Counselling Centre - 519-253-3000, x4616 or scc@uwindsor.ca.

More info re: making appointments at the Student Counselling Centre website.

Amanda Noble
Manager, Finance & Adminstration,
Office of the Dean
Room 332 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2258

Ms Angela Papas
Nursing Programs & Student Support (Undergraduate) Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x6129
apapas@uwindsor.ca

Ms Lacey Rivest, RN, BScN, CHPCN, MN(Student)
Clinical Lab Coordinator
Room 210 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2282
lacey.rivest@uwindsor.ca

Ms Susan Rotondi-Moore
Clinical Placement Secretary and Clinical Pre-Clearance contact
Room 201C Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4918
srotond@uwindsor.ca


SESSIONAL INSTRUCTORS

Contact information for Sessional Instructors:

Beaumont, Kate       Katherine.Beaumont@uwindsor.ca
Berecz, Allison        aberecz3@uwindsor.ca
Best, Patricia             cardiac1@uwindsor.ca
Blanchard, Katrina       Katrina.Blanchard@uwindsor.ca
Bloxham-Jenkins, Kim    kim.bloxham-jenkins@uwindsor.ca
Brothers, Lourdes        lbroth@uwindsor.ca
Cameron, Margo        mcameron@uwindsor.ca
Charron, Debra         debrac@uwindsor.ca
Comisso, Louise         lcomisso@uwindsor.ca
Corby, Kathryn          corby1@uwindsor.ca
Daabous, James          James.Daabous@uwindsor.ca
Dafesh, Andre               Andre.Dafesh@uwindsor.ca
Derbyshire-Green, Marlene    jbgreen@uwindsor.ca
DiSabato, Christina     disabato@uwindsor.ca
Dobson, Kim           Kimberley.Dobson@uwindsor.ca
Dufour, Sean           Sean.Dufour@uwindsor.ca
Evans (Reaume), Shelley    sevans@uwindsor.ca or sreaume4@uwindsor.ca
Fields, Patti               Patti.Fields@uwindsor.ca
Furmanek, Dawn       furmanek@uwindsor.ca
Galbraith, Leslie       Leslie.Galbraith@uwindsor.ca
Hamlin, Renee         Renee.Hamlin@uwindsor.ca
Haugh, Caitlin         Caitlin.Haugh@uwindsor.ca
Hindi, Jessica         Jessica.Hindi@uwindsor.ca
Holmes, Rachael    holmesra@uwindsor.ca
Hufano, Ruel          Ruel.Hufano@uwindsor.ca
Jacobs, Joanne      jjacobs@uwindsor.ca
Kennedy, Kelly       kkennedy@uwindsor.ca
Keyeux , Brianna     keyeux@uwindsor.ca
Kopchek (White), Lauren    lwhite12@uwindsor.ca
Laing, Danielle            danlaing@uwindsor.ca
Lammers, Lindsay     llammers@uwindsor.ca
Lanoue, Lisa            llanoue@uwindsor.ca
Laplante, Kristen       laplante@uwindsor.ca
Lawrence, Terri          Terri.Lawrence@uwindsor.ca
Lesny, Paul               Paul.Lesny@uwindsor.ca
Leventis, Alisha           Alisha.Leventis@uwindsor.ca
MacLean, Katharine (Kathy)    Katharine.MacLean@uwindsor.ca
Marar, Sandra              marar79@uwindsor.ca
Maxwell, Sandra          maxwells@uwindsor.ca
McMahon, Sarah          sarmc22@uwindsor.ca
Mills, Jamie                 Jamie.Mills@uwindsor.ca
Morreau, Donna            dmorreau@uwindsor.ca
Morris, Theresa             tmorris@uwindsor.ca
Nead, Nicole                 Nicole.Nead@uwindsor.ca
Paquette (Gignac), Cynthia    cynthiag@uwindsor.ca
Pekrul, Kerry                        kpekrul@uwindsor.ca
Rajaratnam, Jayne                jay73@uwindsor.ca
Robertson-Brown, Karen      Karen.Robertson-Brown@uwindsor.ca
Roelands, Danielle         droeland@uwindsor.ca
Rowley, Filomena          frowley@uwindsor.ca
Ruccolo, Alyssa           Alyssa.Ruccolo@uwindsor.ca
Ryan, Candace             cryan@uwindsor.ca
Seguin, Tracey             tseg14@uwindsor.ca
Singh, Raj                    rsingh71@uwindsor.ca
St. John, Don               Don.StJohn@uwindsor.ca
Strilchuck, Laura           laurastr@uwindsor.ca
Sweet, Karl                   ksweet@uwindsor.ca
Sweet, Heather              hsweet73@uwindsor.ca
Tebbens, Jennifer          Jennifer.Tebbens@uwindsor.ca
Teves, Dianne               Dianne.Teves@uwindsor.ca
Thorpe, Sharon            sharont@uwindsor.ca
Toms, Robert                ltoms@uwindsor.ca
Tomac, Mika Dr.               mtomac@uwindsor.ca
Topcagic, Braco (Ahmet)   braco.topcagic@uwindsor.ca
Trkulja, Jennifer                jtruklja@uwindsor.ca
Trubyk, Sandra                strubyk@uwindsor.ca
Ussoletti, Celina              cunurse@uwindsor.ca
Watson, Josie                jwatson@uwindsor.ca
Weller, Melissa                wellerme@uwindsor.ca
Wellington, Chris            cmwell@uwindsor.ca
Wells, Brooke                Brooke.Wells@uwindsor.ca

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Mr. Mark Campbell - Lecturer - mcampb@uwindsor.ca
Dr. Mary Louise Drake - Associate Professor Emerita - mld@uwindsor.ca
Ms Eleanor Groh - Assistant Professor
Ms. Shannon Landry- Professor
Ms Karen Riddell - Lecturer
Ms Virginia Walsh - Lecturer - walsh552@uwindsor.ca
Ms Donna Wellington - Lecturer
Dr. Karen Williamson - Assistant Professor - karenw@uwindsor.ca

IN MEMORIAM

Prof. Anna Gupta (November 5, 2018), Director of the School of Nursing, 1970-1975


Lily Powis, Receptionist (September 1, 2018)


Dr. Sheila Cameron (January 19, 2016), Director of the School of Nursing, 1986-1995 and Dean, Graduate Studies and Research, 1996-2005


Prof. Mathilde McGarvey (July 6, 2013), Retired Professor 


Dr. Anna Temple (August 10, 2012), Retired Professor and Former Director - details and tribute information


Dr. Donna M. Foley, RN, PhD
June 8, 1944 - April 13, 2006

Dr. Donna M. Foley, RN, PhD
On April 13, 2006, the Faculty of Nursing lost a trusted educator, scholar and mentor after a short battle with cancer. To read about Donna, go to the following links below.
 


Paula Margaret Heydon
April 21, 1952 - June 18, 2005
Lab Manager, Faculty of Nursing

Heydon, Paula Margaret (nee Hrecniuk) R.N.

Paula Margaret HeydonPeacefully at home surrounded by her family and friends on June 18, 2005 at 53 years of age after a brief but courageous battle with cancer. Beloved wife and best friend of Rick for 32 years. Loving mother of Trevor and wife Kelly. Dear daughter of the late Sam and Jennie Hrecniuk of Chatham. Daughter-in-law of Les and Sadie Heydon. Cherished sister of Sylvia and the late Gerry Bresnahan of Grosse Ile, MI, William and wife Donna Hrecniuk, David and wife Carole Hrecniuk of Chatham. Sister-in-law of Randy and wife Shelley Heydon, Cindy Anstett and friend Mark, Brian and wife Kim Heydon of Leamington. Many nieces and nephews also survive. Paula will be sadly missed by many friends and co-workers. Paula was a well respected professional in Windsor health care for many years. In lieu of flowers, donations to Hospice of Windsor or the Windsor Regional Cancer Centre would be appreciated by the family. Cremation Services were held. Memorial Visitation Wednesday 9 am until time of Memorial Service at 11 am. at St. Barnabas’ Church (2115 Chilver Rd.). Arrangements entrusted to Families First Funeral Home & Tribute Centre (969-5841) 3260 Dougall Ave. Rev. Lance Smith officiating Special thanks to John and Linda Grubisich, Dave and Joyce Blake, Henry and Helen Moro, Paul Popov and friend Diane, Sandy Dennison, everyone at the Windsor Regional Cancer Clinic, the VON and the Hospice of Windsor for their care and support.


P.Y. Abraham
Professor, Faculty of Nursing

Professor Abraham taught Leadership and Management, as well as community health nursing theory and clinical in year four. He coordinated the community program for many years and was well respected by the community partners. He was also active in promoting multi-culturalism in the Windsor-Essex County. He is fondly remembered as a good listener, humble, generous, and always supportive of new faculty members.

He was survived by his wife and two daughters.