Faculty and Staff


Dr. Linda Patrick Dr. Linda Patrick, RN, BScN, MA, MSc, PhD
 Dean and Associate Professor
 Research Focus:
  • Maternal/Child,
  • Prevention of type 2 diabetes in women with previous gestational diabetes,
  • Chronic disease management and improving health outcomes for women at risk for Type 2 diabetes after gestational diabetes,
  • Pre-conceptual health promotion,
  • Transition to professional practice issues

Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2259


Dr. Susan Fox, RN, BN, MScN, PhD
Associate Dean and Associate Professor
Research Focus:
  • Healthcare associated infections and infectious diseases
  • Cardiovascular health

Room 300 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2284


Boamah photo

Dr. Sheila Boamah, RN, BScN, MN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:

  • Healthcare systems & leadership
  • Patient safety
  • Work environments & organizational culture
  • New graduate nurse transition
  • Population health

Room 328 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2264


Prof. Judy Bornais

Prof. Judy Bornais, RN, BA, BScN, MSc, CDE
Academic Ancillary Staff III - Experiential Learning Specialist
Teaching Leadership Chair
Research Focus:

  • Diabetes care,
  • simulation in health care education, and
  • inter-professional health care

Room 3126 Medical Education Building
519.253.3000, x2269


Dr. Jamie Crawley Dr. Jamie Crawley,  RN, BScN, BA (Psychology), BA (Sociology), MBA, PhD
 Associate Professor 
 Research Focus:
  • Poverty and health disparities, 
  • chronic illness and
  • teen sibling health

 Room 319 Toldo HEC
 519.253.3000, x4816


Dayusphoto Dr. Deborah Dayus, RN, BScN, BA, MSc, PhD
Academic Ancillary Staff II - Clinical Practice Learning Specialist: Years 1 & 3 Clinical
Research Focus:
  • Women's health,
  • Maternal/child health (infertility; emotional health)
  • Community health
  • Incivility in Nursing Education

 Room 320 Toldo HEC
 519.253.3000, x3770


Dr. Lorna DeWitt



Dr. Lorna De Witt, RN, BScN, PhD
Associate Professor
Sabbatical July 1, 2017-June 30, 2018
Research Focus

  • Aging and family issues related to living alone and
  • dementia

    Room 324 Toldo HEC
    519.253.3000, x2286


Dr. Kathryn Edmunds, RN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:

  • Migration and health of temporary foreign workers
  • Culture, diversity and cultural safety
  • Community health

Room 318 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4383


Dr. Maher El-Masri, RN, BScN, MS, PhD
Professor & Nursing Research Chair
Editor-in-Chief, Canadian Journal of Nursing Research
Research Focus:
  • Infection Control and
  • Chronic Illness

Room 302 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2400


Prof. Michelle Freeman

Dr. Michelle Freeman, RN, BScN, BA, MScN, PhD, CPPS
Associate Professor
Research Focus:

  • Care of older adults (geriatrics and gerontology) and geriatric syndromes (falls, dementia),
  • patient safety culture of safety; nursing’s role in creating safe practice environments;
  • team work;
  • medication safety;
  • human factors, and
  • nursing leadership
Room 304 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4812
Prof. Laurie Freeman-Gibb

Dr. Laurie Freeman, RN, BScN, MSN, PhD
Assistant Professor and NP Program Coordinator
Research Focus:

  • Breast cancer (survivorship issues and decision making), and 
  • technology and teaching

Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2278


Prof. N. Giannotti photo

Dr. Natalie Giannotti, RN, BHK, MN, PhD
Clinical Practice Facilitator - Year 2 Clinical/Lab and Year 4 Clinical
Research Focus:

  • Gestational diabetes, diabetes prevention, health promotion

Room 322 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4988


Dr. Debbie Kane

Dr. Debbie Kane, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD
Associate Professor, and Associate Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies
Research Focus:

  • Women's health, workplace
  • wellness, and public health
Room 301 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2268
Prof. Jason Kiernan

Prof. Jason Kiernan, RN, BSN, MSN, PhD (in progress)
Research Focus:

  • Cancer and cancer prevention

Room 308 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4390


Heather Krohn photo

Dr. Heather Krohn, RN, BScN, MEd, PhD
Assistant Professor

Research Focus:

  • Community and global health,
  • cross-cultural healthcare

Room 326 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2275


Prof. Sherry Morrell, RN(EC), BScN, Primary Health Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate, MN, MCISc (Wound Healing), PhD(c)
Lecturer and NP Program Administrator
Research Focus:

  • Wound healing- process of designation in wound healing
  • Reducing emergency department visits for non urgent care- Providing wound care in an outreach setting

Room 3122 Medical Education Building
519.253.3000, x4389


Prof. Kathy Pfaff

Dr. Kathy Pfaff, RN, BScN, MSc, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:

  • Interprofessional Collaboration,
  • New Graduate Nurse Transition, 
  • Rural Community Health Care,
  • health care systems,
  • palliative care

Room 312 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4977


Dr. Dale Rajacich

Dr. Dale Rajacich, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD
Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator
Research Focus:

  • Breast cancer and
  • international collaboration
Room 330 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2270
Dr. Jody Ralph photo Dr. Jody Ralph, RN, BSc, BScN, MSc, PhD
Associate Professor
Research Focus:
  • Oncology

Room 314 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2271


Prof. Debbie Rickeard

 Dr. Debbie Rickeard, RN, BScN, BA, MScN, DNP
   CCRN(c), CCN(c)
   Academic Ancillary Staff - Experiential Learning
   Room 3124 Medical Education Building
   519.253.3000, x4993


Dr. Christine Thrasher

Dr. Christine Thrasher, RN, BScN, BA, MScN, Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate, PhD
Associate Professor
Research Focus:

  • Interprofessional education & practice
  • knowledge translation, and
  • infection control

Room 306 Toldo HEC 
519.253.3000, x2266
Dr. Thrasher's website



Dr. Laurie Carty, RN, BScN, BA, MEd, PhD, carty@uwindsor.ca
Research focus: Mental health - individual and group counselling

Dr. Mary Louise Drake, mld@uwindsor.ca
Chairperson, Building Blocks for Better Babies

Prof. Anna Gupta, Director of the School of Nursing, 1970-1975

Dr. Cheri Hernandez, RN, BScN, BA, MEd, PhD (Education), PhD (Nursing), cherih@uwindsor.ca
Research focus: Theory of integration & interventions in diabetes, grounded theory research, and instrument/scale development

Prof. Patricia McKay, RN, BScN, MSc - pmckay@uwindsor.ca 

Dr. Sharon McMahon, mcmaho3@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Values clarification and moral decision-making, animal-assisted therapy and bereavement, and nursing history and the arts

Dr. Devamma Purushotham

Dr. Janet N. Rosenbaum, Director of the School of Nursing, 1981-1986

Dr. Barbara Thomas, Associate Vice President Academic, University of Windsor, 1991-1996, thomas9@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Karen Williamson, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD, karenw@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Cardiovascular nursing and intervention research

Prof. Lucia Yiu (Matuk), BSc, BScN, BA, MScN, lyiu@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Health promotion, breast health, multiculturalism


Prof. Mary Chick, RN, BScN, MSc
Sessional Lecturer
Room 313 HEC
519.253.3000, x2287

Prof. Mary Cole, RN, DPHN, BA, BScN, MSc
Sessional Lecturer
Room 315 HEC
519.253.3000, x2283


Ms Natalie Bownes
Clinical Coordinator
Room 201D Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4814

Ms Anne Dennahower
Nursing Programs & Student Support (Graduate) Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2260

Ms Susan Dennison
Lab & Education Coordinator
Room 210 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2282

Ms Sheema Inayatulla
Assistant to the Dean
Room 332 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2281

Joy Lesperance
Dean's Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2259

Ms Fran Meloche 
Student Success Coordinator
Room 201B Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2274
Fran Meloche's work days:  Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Ms Shannon Mercer (August to June annually)
Nursing Clinical Therapist
Room 201A Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4388
Shannon Mercer's office hours:
August to June annually: Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Appointments with Shannon are made by contacting Student Counselling Centre - 519-253-3000, x4616 or scc@uwindsor.ca. Please see more info re making appointments.

Ms Angela Papas
Nursing Programs & Student Support (Undergraduate) Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x6129

Ms Lily Powis
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2265

Ms Susan Rotondi-Moore
Clinical Placement Secretary and Clinical Pre-Clearance contact
Room 201C Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4918


Contact information for Sessional Instructors:

Am, Sariem   Sariem.Am@uwindsor.ca
Arsic, Judy    jarsic@uwindsor.ca
Awad, Cathy   catawad7@uwindsor.ca
Baxter, Susan    sbaxter@uwindsor.ca
Beaumont, Katherine (Kate)    Katherine.Beaumont@uwindsor.ca
Berecz, Allison    aberecz3@uwindsor.ca
Best, Patricia    cardiac1@uwindsor.ca
Brothers, Lourdes    lbroth@uwindsor.ca
Cameron, Margo    mcameron@uwindsor.ca
Campbell, Mark    mcampb@uwindsor.ca
Colledge, Maureen    colledge@uwindsor.ca
Comisso, Louise    lcomisso@uwindsor.ca
Dafesh, Andre     Andre.Dafesh@uwindsor.ca
Derbyshire-Green, Marlene    jbgreen@uwindsor.ca
Di Paolo, Vanessa    vdipaolo@uwindsor.ca
Dimitroff, Antoinette    dimitrof@uwindsor.ca
DiPonti, Sara     sdiponti@uwindsor.ca
DiSabato, Christina   disabato@uwindsor.ca
Dobson, Kim    kdobson@uwindsor.ca
Ecclestone, Lacey  Lacey.Ecclestone@uwindsor.ca
Evans (Reaume), Shelley    sreaume4@uwindsor.ca
Fields, Patti    Patti.Fields@uwindsor.ca
Galbraith, Leslie    Leslie.Galbraith@uwindsor.ca
Hamlin, Renee  Renee.Hamlin@uwindsor.ca
Holmes, Rachael    holmesra@uwindsor.ca
Hufano, Ruel  Ruel.Hufano@uwindsor.ca
Jacobs, Joanne     jjacobs@uwindsor.ca
Janisse (Seguin), Jackie  Jackie.Seguin@uwindsor.ca
Kopchek (White), Lauren    lwhite12@uwindsor.ca
Laing, Danielle     danlaing@uwindsor.ca
Lammers, Lindsay  llammers@uwindsor.ca
Lanoue, Lisa    llanoue@uwindsor.ca
Laplante, Kristen    laplante@uwindsor.ca
Lawson, Trisha tlawso@uwindsor.ca
Lesny, Paul    Paul.Lesny@uwindsor.ca
Leventis, Alisha  Alisha.Leventis@uwindsor.ca
MacLean, Katharine    Katharine.MacLean@uwindsor.ca
Manlongat, Donna    donnam@uwindsor.ca
Marar, Sandra    marar79@uwindsor.ca
Maxwell, Sandra    maxwells@uwindsor.ca
McAlpine, Kimberly    mcalpine@uwindsor.ca
McEwen, Amanda    amcewen@uwindsor.ca
McLaughlin, Brenda    bmcla@uwindsor.ca
McMahon, Sarah    sarmc22@uwindsor.ca
Medved-Murtagh, Catherine    cmedved@uwindsor.ca
Meloche, Frances    fmeloche@uwindsor.ca
Mills, Jamie    Jamie.Mills@uwindsor.ca
Morreau, Donna    dmorreau@uwindsor.ca
Morris, Theresa    tmorris@uwindsor.ca
Oldfield, Margaret (Peggy)    oldfield@uwindsor.ca
Paquette (Gignac), Cynthia    cynthiag@uwindsor.ca
Pekrul, Kerry    kpekrul@uwindsor.ca
Pittman, Gina    ginamp@uwindsor.ca
Reddam, Andrea    areddam@uwindsor.ca
Renault, Cynthia  Cindy.Renault@uwindsor.ca
Roelands, Danielle    droeland@uwindsor.ca
Rowley, Filomena    frowley@uwindsor.ca
Ryan, Candace    cryan@uwindsor.ca
Seguin, Tracey    tseg14@uwindsor.ca
Singh, Rajwant (Raj)    rsingh71@uwindsor.ca
St. Aubin, Lucia    staubin@uwindsor.ca
St. John, Don     Don.StJohn@uwindsor.ca
Strilchuck, Laura    laurastr@uwindsor.ca
Sutton, Marilyn Ann    sutton71@uwindsor.ca
Sweet, Heather    hsweet73@uwindsor.ca
Tebbens, Jennifer    Jennifer.Tebbens@uwindsor.ca
Teves, Dianne    Dianne.Teves@uwindsor.ca
Thorpe, Sharon    sharont@uwindsor.ca
Trkulja, Jennifer    jtrkulja@uwindsor.ca
Trubyk, Sandra    strubyk@uwindsor.ca
Ussoletti, Celina    cunurse@uwindsor.ca
Watson, Josie    jwatson@uwindsor.ca
Weller, Melissa    wellerme@uwindsor.ca
Zakaria, Josie    jzakaria@uwindsor.ca



Ms Grace Bradish - Assistant Professor
Dr. Sharon Burey - Assistant Professor
Mr. Mark Campbell - Lecturer - mcampb@uwindsor.ca
Dr. Mary Louise Drake - Associate Professor - mld@uwindsor.ca
Ms Jean Echlin - Associate Professor
Ms Eleanor Groh - Assistant Professor
Major Steven Pirie - Lecturer
Ms Karen Riddell - Lecturer
Ms Annette Scott - Lecturer
Dr. Patricia Sealy - Assistant Professor
Ms Neelu Sehgal - Lecturer
Ms Jane Simanovski - Lecturer - Jane.Simanovski@uwindsor.ca
Ms Virginia Walsh - Lecturer - walsh552@uwindsor.ca
Ms Donna Wellington - Lecturer
Dr. Karen Williamson - Assistant Professor - karenw@uwindsor.ca


Dr. Sheila Cameron (January 19, 2016), Director of the School of Nursing, 1986-1995 and Dean, Graduate Studies and Research, 1996-2005

Prof. Mathilde McGarvey (July 6, 2013), Retired Professor 

Dr. Anna Temple (August 10, 2012), Retired Professor and Former Director - details and tribute information

Dr. Donna M. Foley, RN, PhD
June 8, 1944 - April 13, 2006

Dr. Donna M. Foley, RN, PhD
On April 13, 2006, the Faculty of Nursing lost a trusted educator, scholar and mentor after a short battle with cancer. To read about Donna, go to the following links below.

Paula Margaret Heydon
April 21, 1952 - June 18, 2005
Lab Manager, Faculty of Nursing

Heydon, Paula Margaret (nee Hrecniuk) R.N.

Paula Margaret HeydonPeacefully at home surrounded by her family and friends on June 18, 2005 at 53 years of age after a brief but courageous battle with cancer. Beloved wife and best friend of Rick for 32 years. Loving mother of Trevor and wife Kelly. Dear daughter of the late Sam and Jennie Hrecniuk of Chatham. Daughter-in-law of Les and Sadie Heydon. Cherished sister of Sylvia and the late Gerry Bresnahan of Grosse Ile, MI, William and wife Donna Hrecniuk, David and wife Carole Hrecniuk of Chatham. Sister-in-law of Randy and wife Shelley Heydon, Cindy Anstett and friend Mark, Brian and wife Kim Heydon of Leamington. Many nieces and nephews also survive. Paula will be sadly missed by many friends and co-workers. Paula was a well respected professional in Windsor health care for many years. In lieu of flowers, donations to Hospice of Windsor or the Windsor Regional Cancer Centre would be appreciated by the family. Cremation Services were held. Memorial Visitation Wednesday 9 am until time of Memorial Service at 11 am. at St. Barnabas’ Church (2115 Chilver Rd.). Arrangements entrusted to Families First Funeral Home & Tribute Centre (969-5841) 3260 Dougall Ave. Rev. Lance Smith officiating Special thanks to John and Linda Grubisich, Dave and Joyce Blake, Henry and Helen Moro, Paul Popov and friend Diane, Sandy Dennison, everyone at the Windsor Regional Cancer Clinic, the VON and the Hospice of Windsor for their care and support.

P.Y. Abraham
Professor, Faculty of Nursing

Professor Abraham taught Leadership and Management, as well as community health nursing theory and clinical in year four. He coordinated the community program for many years and was well respected by the community partners. He was also active in promoting multi-culturalism in the Windsor-Essex County. He is fondly remembered as a good listener, humble, generous, and always supportive of new faculty members.

He was survived by his wife and two daughters.