The University of Windsor is preparing for a safe return to campus. Learn More.

Faculty and Staff


FACULTY

Dr. Debbie Sheppard-LeMoine, PhD, RN
Dean and Associate Professor
Research Focus:

 

Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2259 (Joy Lesperance, Dean's Secretary)
Debbie.Sheppard-Lemoine@uwindsor.ca 

 

Dr. Susan Fox, RN, BN, MScN, PhD
Associate Dean and Associate Professor
Research Focus:
  • Healthcare associated infections and infectious diseases
  • Cardiovascular health

Room 300 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2284
sfox@uwindsor.ca

 

Prof. Judy Bornais

Prof. Judy Bornais, RN, BA, BScN, MSc, CDE
On leave to be Acting Executive Director, Office of Experiential Learning - July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2022
Academic Ancillary Staff III - Experiential Learning Specialist
Teaching Leadership Chair
Research Focus:
  • Diabetes care,
  • simulation in health care education, and
  • inter-professional health care

519.253.3000, x2269
jbornais@uwindsor.ca

 

    
Prof. Natalie Bownes, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD (student)
Academic Ancillary Staff II - Clinical Practice Learning Specialist: Years 1 & 3 Clinical
Research Focus:
  • Clinical Teaching in Nursing
  • Mentorship of Clinical Instructors
  • Nursing Education
Room 318 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x 4383
 
 
Dr. Jamie Crawley
Dr. Jamie Crawley,  RN, BScN, BA (Psychology), BA (Sociology), MBA, PhD
Associate Professor
Research Focus:
  • Poverty and health disparities, 
  • chronic illness and
  • teen sibling health

 Room 319 Toldo HEC
 519.253.3000, x4816
 jcrawley@uwindsor.ca

 

Ecruzphoto
Dr. Edward Cruz, RN, CCNE, DMD, BScN, BN, MEdM, MScN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:
  • Nursing Education
  • Internationally Educated Nurses
  • Human Resources for Health
  • Immigrant Health
  • Interprofessional Education and Collaboration

Room  322 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2263
Edward.Cruz@uwindsor.ca

 

SDennisonphoto
Prof. Susan Dennison, RN, BScN, MScN, CPPS
Academic Ancillary Staff II - Clinical Practice Learning Specialist: Years 2 & 4 Clinical
Research Focus:
  • Patient Safety
  • Clinical Education
  • Peer Mentoring

Room 308 Toldo HEC
519.253-3000, x4390
dennison@uwindsor.ca

 

Dr. Lorna DeWitt

 

 

Dr. Lorna de Witt, PhD, RN
Associate Professor & Graduate Coordinator for Student Academic Affairs
Research Focus:
  • Relational care of persons with dementia and their families
  • LTC home compliance with LTC legislation
  • Medication safety in LTC homes
  • Diversity and aging

Room 302 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2286
ladewitt@uwindsor.ca

 

Prof. Michelle Freeman
Dr. Michelle Freeman, RN, BScN, BA, MScN, PhD, CPPS
Associate Professor
Research Focus:
  • Health Services (health human resources, nurse migration, leadership, followership)
  • Health Outcomes (science of patient safety, quality improvement)
Room 304 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4812
mfreeman@uwindsor.ca
 
 
 
Prof. Laurie Freeman-Gibb
Dr. Laurie Freeman, RN, BScN, MSN, PhD
Associate Professor and PHCNP Graduate Coordinator
Research Focus:
  • Breast cancer (survivorship issues and decision making), and 
  • technology and teaching

Room 303 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2278
lfreeman@uwindsor.ca

 

Prof. N. Giannotti photo
Dr. Natalie Giannotti, RN, BHK, MN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:
  • Gestational diabetes 
  • Diabetes prevention
  • Health promotion

Room 316 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4988
natalieg@uwindsor.ca

 

Dr. Debbie Kane
Dr. Debbie Kane, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD
Associate Professor, and Associate Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies
Research Focus:
  • Women's health, workplace
  • wellness, and public health
Room 301 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2268
dkane@uwindsor.ca
 
 
 
Dr. Kate Rocklein Kemplin, PhD(c), DNP, RN
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:
  • resilience and suicide in Special Operations Forces service members
  • combat polytrauma and blast-related traumatic brain injury
  • ultra-miniature defibrillator engineering and remote critical care monitoring on the battlefield
  • deployment-and military service -related health outcomes
Room 330 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000 x2270
 
amcewenphoto
Prof. Amanda McEwen, RN, BSc (Honours Bio.), BScN, MScN
Academic Ancillary Staff - Experiential Learning Specialist
Research Focus:
  • Hand hygiene adherence and healthcare associated infections
  • Effect moderation/interaction effects (research methodology)

Room 3126 Medical Education Building
519.253.3000, x2248
amcewen@uwindsor.ca

 

     
Dr. Noeman Mirza, RN, BScN, PhD
Associate Professor
Research Focus:
  • Nursing Education
  • Complex reasoning
  • Gerontology
  • Care transitions
  • Rural aging
Room 326 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2275
 
     
Prof. Sherry Morrell, RN(EC), BScN, Primary Health Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate, MN, MCISc (Wound Healing), PhD(c)
Lecturer and NP Program Administrator
Research Focus:
  • Nurse Practitioner
  • Nursing Education
  • Wound care

Room 306 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4389
morrells@uwindsor.ca

 

 

 

 

Prof. Leanne Paquette, RN, BScN, MN, PhD (Student)
Lecturer 
Research Focus:
  • Incivility

Room 317 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2266
lpaquett@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Linda Patrick, RN,  PhD
Associate Professor
Dean (2010-2020)
President CASN (2020-2022)  
Research Focus:
  • Mentorship & Retention of new faculty
  • Curriculum Design and Evaluation
  • Internationally Educated Nurses  https://rncompetencies.ca 

Room 3122 Medical Education Building
519.253.3000, x4372  
lpatric@uwindsor.ca

 

    Prof. Kathy Pfaff
Dr. Kathy Pfaff, RN, BScN, MSc, PhD
Associate Professor
Research Focus:
  • Interprofessional Collaboration,
  • New Graduate Nurse Transition, 
  • Rural Community Health Care,
  • health care systems,
  • palliative care

Room 312 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4977
kpfaff@uwindsor.ca

 

     Gina Pittman photo
Prof. Gina Pittman, RN(EC), BScN, MN-NP, PhD(c)
Lecturer
Research Focus:
  • NP prescribing
  • NP practice

Room 324 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4384
Gina.Pittman@uwindsor.ca

 

     Dr. Jody Ralph photo
Dr. Jody Ralph, RN, BSc, BScN, MSc, PhD
Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator - Graduate Student & Faculty Research
Great Lakes Biennial Nursing Conference (GLBNC) Chair
Research Focus:
  • Cancer research
  • Gene-environment interactions
  • Nursing education
  • Disease pathophysiology
  • Altered nutrition

Room 314 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2271
Jody.Ralph@uwindsor.ca

 

   Prof. Debbie Rickeard
 Dr. Debbie Rickeard, RN, BScN, BA, MScN, DNP, CCRN, CNE
 Academic Ancillary Staff - Experiential Learning Specialist
Research Focus:
  • preceptor education
  • health literacy


 Room 3124 Medical Education Building
 519.253.3000, x4993
 rickeard@uwindsor.ca

 

Dr. Eric Tanlaka

Dr. Eric Tanlaka, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Focus:
  • Neuroscience nursing
  • Stroke rehabilitation care
  • Philosophy in nursing research
  • Theories in nursing research


 Room 320 Toldo HEC
 519.253.3000, x3770
 eric.tanlaka@uwindsor.ca 

PROFESSORS EMERITAE/RETIRED:

Dr. Laurie Carty, RN, BScN, BA, MEd, PhD, carty@uwindsor.ca 
Research focus: Mental health - individual and group counselling
 
Prof. Mary Cole, RN, DPHN, BA, BScN, MSc, Sessional Lecturer cole9@uwindsor.ca
 
Dr. Deborah Dayus, RN, BScN, BA, MSc, PhD- Academic Ancillary Staff III - Clinical Practice Learning Specialist: Years 1 & 3 Clinical dayus@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Women's health, maternal/child health (infertility; emotional health), community health, incivility in Nursing Education

Dr. Mary Louise Drake, mld@uwindsor.ca - Associate Professor Emeritae
Chairperson, Building Blocks for Better Babies

Dr. Kathryn Edmunds, RN, PhD- Assistant Professor kedmunds@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Migration and health of temporary foreign workers, culture, diversity and cultural safety, community health

Dr. Cheri Hernandez, RN, BScN, BA, MEd, PhD (Education), PhD (Nursing), cherih@uwindsor.ca
Research focus: Theory of integration & interventions in diabetes, grounded theory research, and instrument/scale development

Dr. Heather Krohn, RN, BScN, MEd, PhD, Assistant Professor hkrohn@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Community and global health, cross-cultural healthcare

Prof. Patricia McKay, RN, BScN, MSc - pmckay@uwindsor.ca 

Dr. Sharon McMahon, mcmaho3@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Values clarification and moral decision-making, animal-assisted therapy and bereavement, and nursing history and the arts

Dr. Dale Rajacich, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD, rajacic@uwindsor.ca
Research focus: breast cancer and international collaboration

Dr. Janet N. Rosenbaum, Director of the School of Nursing, 1981-1986

Dr. Barbara Thomas, Associate Vice President Academic, University of Windsor, 1991-1996, thomas9@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Christine Thrasher,  RN, BScN, BA, MScN, Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate, PhD, Associate Professor,  thrash4@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus:Interprofessional education & practice,knowledge translation, and infection control

Dr. Karen Williamson, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD, karenw@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Cardiovascular nursing and intervention research

Prof. Lucia Yiu (Matuk), BSc, BScN, BA, MScN, lyiu@uwindsor.ca
Research Focus: Health promotion, breast health, multiculturalism


SESSIONAL LECTURERS

Prof. Mary Chick, RN, BScN, MSc
Sessional Lecturer
Room 313 HEC
519.253.3000, x2287
mchick@uwindsor.ca

Prof. Antoinette Dimitroff, RN, BScN
Sessional Lecturer
Room 315 HEC
519.253.3000, x4380
dimitrof@uwindsor.ca

Prof. Brenda McLaughlin, RN, BScN, BA (Psychology), MN
Sessional Lecturer
Room 315 HEC
519.253.3000, x4387
bmcla@uwindsor.ca
 


STAFF


Mr. Brett Colman
IT Support Technician
Room 201G Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4382
Brett.Colman@uwindsor.ca

Ms. Anne Dennahower
Nursing Programs & Student Support (Graduate) Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2260
adenna@uwindsor.ca

Ms. Stephanie Hunter
Clinical Placement Coordinator
Room 201D Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4814

Ms. Rosalba Iannicello
Receptionist/Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2265
rosalbai@uwindsor.ca

Ms. Joy Lesperance
Dean's Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2259
joyl@uwindsor.ca

Ms. Fran Meloche, RN, MScN
Student Success Coordinator
Room 201B Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2274
fmeloche@uwindsor.ca

Ms. Shannon Mercer,  (August to June annually)
Nursing Clinical Therapist
Room 201A Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4388
Shannon.Mercer@uwindsor.ca

Shannon Mercer's office hours:
August to June annually: Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Appointments with Shannon are made by contacting Student Counselling Centre - 519-253-3000, x4616 or scc@uwindsor.ca.

More info re: making appointments at the Student Counselling Centre website.

Ms. Amanda Noble
Manager, Finance & Adminstration,
Office of the Dean
Room 332 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2258

Ms. Angela Papas
Nursing Programs & Student Support (Undergraduate) Secretary
Room 336 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x6129
apapas@uwindsor.ca

Ms. Lacey Rivest, RN, BScN, CHPCN, MN(Student)
Clinical Lab Coordinator
Room 210 Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x2282
lacey.rivest@uwindsor.ca

Ms. Susan Rotondi-Moore
Clinical Placement Secretary and Clinical Pre-Clearance contact
Room 201C Toldo HEC
519.253.3000, x4918
srotond@uwindsor.ca


SESSIONAL INSTRUCTORS

Contact information for Sessional Instructors: Updated list to be provided for Fall 2020 semester

Barnable, Alexia                   Alexia.Barnable@uwindsor.ca
Berecz, Allison                     aberecz3@uwindsor.ca
Best, Patricia                       cardiac1@uwindsor.ca
Bloxham-Jenkins, Kim          kim.bloxham-jenkins@uwindsor.ca
Brothers, Lourdes                 lbroth@uwindsor.ca
Campeau, Katie                    Katie.Campeau@uwindsor.ca
Campbell, Mark                     mcampb@uwindsor.ca
Charron, Debra                     debrac@uwindsor.ca
Comisso, Louise                   lcomisso@uwindsor.ca
Daabous, James                   James.Daabous@uwindsor.ca
Dafesh, Andre                       Andre.Dafesh@uwindsor.ca
Denomme, Brooke                Brooke.Denomme@uwindsor.ca
Derbyshire-Green, Marlene    jbgreen@uwindsor.ca
DiSabato, Christina               disabato@uwindsor.ca
Dobson, Kim                          Kimberley.Dobson@uwindsor.ca
Evans, Shelley                       sevans@uwindsor.ca  
Fields, Patti                            Patti.Fields@uwindsor.ca
Galbraith, Leslie                    Leslie.Galbraith@uwindsor.ca
Groh, Eleanor                        Eleanor.Groh@uwindsor.ca
Holmes, Rachael                   holmesra@uwindsor.ca
Hufano, Ruel                        Ruel.Hufano@uwindsor.ca
Jacobs, Joanne                    jjacobs@uwindsor.ca
Jammal, Rima                      Rima.Jammal@uwindsor.ca
Jones, Kelly                         Kelly.Jones@uwindsor.ca
Kennedy, Kelly                     kkennedy@uwindsor.ca
Keyeux , Brianna                  keyeux@uwindsor.ca
Kopchek, Lauren                   lwhite12@uwindsor.ca
Laing, Danielle                     danlaing@uwindsor.ca
Lammers, Lindsay                Lindsay.Lammers@uwindsor.ca
Laplante, Kristen                  laplante@uwindsor.ca
Lesny, Paul                           Paul.Lesny@uwindsor.ca
Leventis, Alisha                   Alisha.Leventis@uwindsor.ca
MacLean, Katharine             Katharine.MacLean@uwindsor.ca
Marar, Sandra                     marar79@uwindsor.ca
Maxwell, Sandra                 maxwells@uwindsor.ca
McAlpine, Kim                    mcalpine@uwindsor.ca
McMahon, Sarah                 sarmc22@uwindsor.ca
Morreau, Donna                  dmorreau@uwindsor.ca
Paquette, Cynthia               cynthiag@uwindsor.ca
Pekrul, Kerry                       kpekrul@uwindsor.ca
Rajaratnam, Jayne              jay73@uwindsor.ca
Ravi, Padma                        Padma.Ravi@uwindsor.ca
Reddam, Andrea                 Andrea.Reddam@uwindsor.ca
Roelands, Danielle              droeland@uwindsor.ca
Rose, Tegan                        Tegan.Rose@uwindsor.ca
Ryan, Candace                  cryan@uwindsor.ca
Seguin, Tracey                   tseg14@uwindsor.ca
St. John, Don                     Don.StJohn@uwindsor.ca
Strilchuck, Laura                laurastr@uwindsor.ca
Sweet, Heather                  hsweet73@uwindsor.ca
Tebbens, Jennifer               Jennifer.Tebbens@uwindsor.ca
Teves, Dianne                    Dianne.Teves@uwindsor.ca
Thorpe, Sharon                  sharont@uwindsor.ca
Topcagic, Braco                  Braco.Topcagic@uwindsor.ca
Tomac, Mika Dr.                  mtomac@uwindsor.ca
Trkulja, Jennifer                  jtruklja@uwindsor.ca
Ussoletti, Celina                 cunurse@uwindsor.ca
Watson, Josie                     jwatson@uwindsor.ca
 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Mr. Mark Campbell - Lecturer - mcampb@uwindsor.ca
Ms. Eleanor Groh - Lecturer - Eleanor.Groh@uwindsor.ca
Lieutenant-Colonel Steven Pirie - Lecturer- steven.pirie@forces.gc.ca
Ms. Karen Riddell - Lecturer
Ms. Virginia Walsh - Lecturer - walsh552@uwindsor.ca
Ms. Donna Wellington - Lecturer
Dr. Karen Williamson - Assistant Professor - karenw@uwindsor.ca

IN MEMORIAM

Prof. Anna Gupta (November 5, 2018), Director of the School of Nursing, 1970-1975


Lily Powis, Receptionist (September 1, 2018)


Dr. Sheila Cameron (January 19, 2016), Director of the School of Nursing, 1986-1995 and Dean, Graduate Studies and Research, 1996-2005


Prof. Mathilde McGarvey (July 6, 2013), Retired Professor 


Dr. Anna Temple (August 10, 2012), Retired Professor and Former Director - details and tribute information


Dr. Donna M. Foley, RN, PhD
June 8, 1944 - April 13, 2006

Dr. Donna M. Foley, RN, PhD
On April 13, 2006, the Faculty of Nursing lost a trusted educator, scholar and mentor after a short battle with cancer. To read about Donna, go to the following links below.
 


Paula Margaret Heydon
April 21, 1952 - June 18, 2005
Lab Manager, Faculty of Nursing


Heydon, Paula Margaret (nee Hrecniuk) R.N.

Paula Margaret HeydonPeacefully at home surrounded by her family and friends on June 18, 2005 at 53 years of age after a brief but courageous battle with cancer. Beloved wife and best friend of Rick for 32 years. Loving mother of Trevor and wife Kelly. Dear daughter of the late Sam and Jennie Hrecniuk of Chatham. Daughter-in-law of Les and Sadie Heydon. Cherished sister of Sylvia and the late Gerry Bresnahan of Grosse Ile, MI, William and wife Donna Hrecniuk, David and wife Carole Hrecniuk of Chatham. Sister-in-law of Randy and wife Shelley Heydon, Cindy Anstett and friend Mark, Brian and wife Kim Heydon of Leamington. Many nieces and nephews also survive. Paula will be sadly missed by many friends and co-workers. Paula was a well respected professional in Windsor health care for many years. In lieu of flowers, donations to Hospice of Windsor or the Windsor Regional Cancer Centre would be appreciated by the family. Cremation Services were held. Memorial Visitation Wednesday 9 am until time of Memorial Service at 11 am. at St. Barnabas’ Church (2115 Chilver Rd.). Arrangements entrusted to Families First Funeral Home & Tribute Centre (969-5841) 3260 Dougall Ave. Rev. Lance Smith officiating Special thanks to John and Linda Grubisich, Dave and Joyce Blake, Henry and Helen Moro, Paul Popov and friend Diane, Sandy Dennison, everyone at the Windsor Regional Cancer Clinic, the VON and the Hospice of Windsor for their care and support.


P.Y. Abraham
Professor, Faculty of Nursing

Professor Abraham taught Leadership and Management, as well as community health nursing theory and clinical in year four. He coordinated the community program for many years and was well respected by the community partners. He was also active in promoting multi-culturalism in the Windsor-Essex County. He is fondly remembered as a good listener, humble, generous, and always supportive of new faculty members.

He was survived by his wife and two daughters. 


Dr. Mary Berry (October 25, 2019), Retired Professor

 


Dr. Devamma Purushotham (October 29, 2019), Professor Emeritus

 


Dr. Kaye Fawdry ( February 19, 1939- March 13, 2020)

Fawdry, Dr. Mary Kaye EddRN BscN

Dr. Kaye passed away peacefully with her best friend and brother by her side at the age of 81 years. She was the beloved wife, best friend and soulmate of Gerald Richardson for 31 years. Dearest sister-in-law of Marilyn Fawdry (Wayne Wood). Loving sister to Gerry (Shirley Fawdry); in-laws, Bill Richardson and Dorothy Lake. Cherished friend of Kaye Moderwell, retired CEO of VON. Dearest thank you to the staff and volunteers at Hospice of Windsor, their professionalism and dedication are outstanding and made Kaye's final days as comfortable as possible.

Memorial visitation and Mass will be held at a later date . Arrangements entrusted to WINDSOR CHAPEL (Central Chapel) 519.253.7234. In lieu of flowers, memorial donations to be made to Hospice of Windsor.