Systems Outage Information: Click here to visit uwindsorsupport.ca

Social Work from Daily News

Critique of biomedical model of mental illness to enjoy launch

Wed, 06/08/2022 - 00:14
The public is invited to an online launch June 12 of Dr. Merrick Pilling’s book Queer and Trans Madness: Struggles for Social Justice.

Applications open for course to bring learning to correctional settings

Wed, 05/04/2022 - 00:14

Applications are now open for the fall 2022 Walls to Bridges course “Tough Chicks: Representations of Women’s Strength and Anger in Popular Culture and Society.”

This will be the fifth Walls to Bridges course offered by Women’s and Gender Studies in the School of Social Work at South West Detention Centre. The classes are taught in jails, prison, and community correctional settings, bringing together students who have been incarcerated with those enrolled in university programs.

Research probes effect of pandemic on treatment of people who use fentanyl

Mon, 05/02/2022 - 00:36
Researchers plan to look into how the COVID-19 pandemic affected people who use fentanyl and those who treat them.

Student remembered as advocate for mental health

Mon, 04/04/2022 - 00:14
Campus flags will be lowered Monday, April 4, in memory of Kristin Legault Donkers, a master’s student of social work who died March 11.

Event to launch book challenging neutrality of psychiatric chart

Thu, 03/31/2022 - 00:08
Merrick Pilling, professor of women’s and gender studies in the School of Social Work, examines the intersection of sexuality and psychiatry.

Disability and inclusion issues subject of webinar

Mon, 03/28/2022 - 00:37
Register this week for the “Disability Inclusion” webinar Tuesday, April 5.

Sunday stroll to support Down syndrome charity

Wed, 03/16/2022 - 00:31
The Disability Studies Student Association presents the Rock Your Socks Down Syndrome Day Walk on Sunday, March 20.