Anti-Black Racism Working Group

President's Working Group on Anti-Black Racism

The President's Working Group on Anti-Black Racism coordinates and monitors progress on the University’s institutional-wide Anti-Black Racism initiatives.

The Working Group focuses on the continuous implementation of institutional initiatives, which will include the Task Force’s Calls to Action, that advance equity, inclusion and belonging, and racial justice for our Black students, staff, and faculty. To that end, the Task Force has been established to develop Calls to Action by listening, learning and responding to the lived experiences of the Black members of our campus community.

It is expected that current initiatives will inform longer-term decision-making regarding the kinds of roles, committees, and infrastructure that are necessary to the ongoing work of combatting Anti-Black Racism at the University. The Working Group provides preliminary coordination for these foundational activities. 

The Working Group members were appointed by the President for their knowledge, experience, and expertise in advancing Black equity, inclusion and belonging, and racial justice. The group includes student, staff, faculty, Board of Governors, and alumni representation.

  • Dr. Robert Gordon, President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Marium Tolson-Murtty, Director, Anti-Racism Organizational Change, Office of the Vice-President, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion
  • Jeremiah Bowers, Initiatives Against Anti-Black Racism Projects Assistant, Office of the Vice-President Equity, Diversity & Inclusion
  • Kaye Johnson, Executive Director, Office of Human Rights, Equity & Accessibility
  • Tiffany Gooch, Board of Governors, Alumni 
  • Dr. Clinton Beckford, Acting Vice-President Equity, Diversity & Inclusion
  • Bev Hamilton, Chief of Staff, Office of the President (Working Group Support)